Rhubarb Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
This recipe is awesome. I put Streusel on the top instead of pie crust. With the purchase of our house we inherited a wealth of Rhubarb plants in the yard, think the previous owner liked to can. I just wanted to find something to do with all this Rhubarb, not generally my favorite, I wanted something to take away from the tartness. I used it in conjunction with the Cherry Pie Filling Recipe from this site. I used an extra cup of cherries and had too much filling but the extra will be heated on the stove for popovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRmaggy
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
This was really yummy! Made it exactly as written. Wish I would have let it cool longer, but I never have the patience and so it was runny, but oh so worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRmaggy
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This pie was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I have made this recipe numerous times. I won grand prize with it at a Rhubarb Rhevival contest. Also donated one to a medical fundraiser auction. It brought $375!! People in my area know my pies & this one quickly became an all-time favorite. If your rhubarb is of the tarter variety, it won't be overwhelmed by the cherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This recipe is a definite keeper! My boyfriend loves cherries and pie. We had some rhubarb lying around that I needed to use up. I made this recipe to the T and it came out perfect!! I could not imagine changing anything. Will be makin this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This was a great way to use our rhubarb. Being stingy with our rhubarb (having just brought some down south from Iowa and cleaning and cutting about 6 cups), I added a drained can of tart cherries to the cherry pie filling, which allowed me to still use only 2 cups of rhubarb. As did Betty Boop, used 8 tablespoons of flour in place of the tapioca, since we had none. Quite tasty and a change from our usual strawberry rhubarb or plain rhubarb pies. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soupy
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This is the best rhubarb cherry pie I have ever had. Although I made some changes. I added 3 cups rhubarb and a Gala apple diced small. I added the extra rhubarb from other suggestions. The reason I added the apple was due to the fact I used a 10 inch pie plate and there wasn't enough filling to fill the pie. It is on my list of keepers. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Sooo good! Used 2.5 cups rhubarb and almost one cup of sugar, since my pie dish was deep and used the butter crust recipie from this site since didnt have shortening. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I made this pie for Thanksgiving this year. I loved it, and so did my guests!!! I was lucky enough to have frozen some rhubarb this summer - homegrown rhubarb gave it the extra kick I like. This really was a wonderful pie, and I will definitely make it again. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Great! I came across this recipe when trying to find out what to do with ingredients I had in freezer and I'm trying to clean it out right now. How perfect for me!I used 4 cups pre pitted frozen cherries and about 1 1/2 cups frozen rhubarb. I personally don't care for any pie so I have not tried this, however the pie eaters I do have are loving it. I did let it sit in front of a window for about 4 hours with a cool breeze coming in over it before serving. I asked my pie eaters if they liked it better the first or second, they answered "yes". I could see that it definitely has set up more within a days time. Will make again. Editing my review I did try some of this pie because I couldn't believe how much they said they liked it but didn't seem to be eating it all that quickly. Very sweet and I can only bet it's because of our tree that gives the sweetest cherries. If using fresh cherries may want to taste them and adjust sugar accordingly. As a sidenoted it's been requested by the pie eaters to have this available for the weekend. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States