Rhubarb Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
WOW! AWESOME! If using sweeter rhubarb (called 'strawberry rhubarb'), cut down the sugar. I've made this twice - once w/real butter and once w/margarine. The real butter gives a far superior crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
Excellent! I didn't have almond extract so I just used vanilla. My husband loved it and went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
This is the very best crisp that I have ever tasted. Being easy and quick to make was just an added bonus. Thank you for the recipe. It is really wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
My husband, who loves cherry and rhubarb, thought it was only mediocre. He didn't like the nuts in the topping. I took the rest to church the next morning and they ate it all up, though nobody raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Wonderful! A great desert to please a crowd. Everyone had a big helping with vanilla ice cream. My husband finished the remainder off with his cup of coffee in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
This is the BEST CRISP RECIPE that I have ever tasted. I loved having a bottom crust as well as a tasty top crust with nuts. Rhubarb is an acquired taste but with this recipe where cherries are mixed in I think that even the "persnickiest eater" would enjoy this easy to make dessert. You could use this crumb crust for any fruit crisp. Great recipe Kel, thanks a lot for sharing it with all of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Holy Cow! This was awesome. I made this almost two weeks ago and I really want to make it again. I did make a few changes. I used fresh cherries (off a friend's cherry tree), and I used splenda instead of sugar. I used more splenda than the recipe called for but I think thats because I didn't use cherry pie filling. I also only used 3 cups of rhubarb because I thought 4 would be too much. I also used whole wheat flour instead of white flour and added some flaxseed to make it a little healthier. I tried this without ice cream and I thought it was amazing and then tried it with ice cream and I thought that it can't get much better than this. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dixon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I loved it! It was sweet and tart all at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Wow, was this good!! I followed the recipe exactly - no adjustments needed. Note that you can use old-fashioned oats or 'quick' oats. I used 'light' cherry pie filling the second time, and it cut down on the sweetness, which I liked. Definitely serve it warm, with vanilla ice cream! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
One word. YUMMY!!! I made this this summer for a BBQ dinner we had (yes I know, I'm a little late doing my review, sorry) I added a little extra almond extract to the pie filling, about 2 tsps. I also added 1 Tblsp of good vanilla. For the crust I used sliced toasted almonds. It had a great mild almond flavor and then the tang of the cherrys and rhubarb were great together! We served it with vanilla ice cream. Perfect for any casual or potluck style dinner. We had a guest that night who does not like desserts much, and he ended up having 2 helping, so that's saying something. Thank you for this recipe. It's been added to my list of faves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States