Rhubarb Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Loved this recipe! I also use it for cherry and blueberry crunch. Everyone loves it. Thanks for sharing. Didn't change a thing,except when I made it with cherries I added a little bit of Almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Tooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
It was a great recipe. However I am not sure why did it need so much sugar. I used half amount of sugar and it tasted fantastic and a little bit healthier. I used half amount of sugar for both the cherry mix and the flour mix and I also used frozen cherries instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I was looking for a way to use up rhubarb and cherries I found at the bottom of my freezer, now that spring is here and a new crop should be coming soon. I followed the recipe (other than that I didn't measure the fruit-what I had was close) with the difference being I used frozen sweet cherries instead of the pie filling. The crisp was delicious. Not too sweet but sweet enough. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I only had frozen Bing (sweet) cherries, but the rhubarb made it taste like tart pie cherries! Since my frozen cherries and rhubarb created so much liquid when thawed, I only added 1/2 C. water to the cornstarch mixture and it came out perfectly. I doubled the topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I hate when people change the recipe, but my suggestion is to put the fruit on the bottom, sprinkle with 1/2 cup sugar and the almond extract then sprinkle a box of red (cherry or strawberry) gelatin, then put ALL the crumbs on top, and bake as usual--you get the gel without cooking the cornstarch, and more crunch on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Belchertown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I made a 2nd version of this using Blueberry pie filling & Lemon extract instead of the almond. They were equally good, but I wish I would have actually stirred the rhubarb into the pie filling mixture instead of layering as the recipe calls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Very good. I made it exactly as directed and it was a hit. I think next time I'll put all of the crust/topping on the top like I do with apple crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Instead of cherry pie filling I used Oregon dark sweet cherries in heavy syrup, which isn't quite as sugary as pie filling. Works great! This recipe is surprisingly easy to put together and something different from the traditional strawberry/rhubarb. I bake in an enamel coated cast iron dutch oven and it comes out perfectly every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States