Rhubarb Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
This is by far the best cheesecake I have ever made!! I used about 3/4 of a package of Pecan Sandies with 1/4 cup melted butter for the crust, baked that for about 7 minutes then followed the recipe exactly. I set the cake pan on a double layer of foil and wrapped it around the outside, that kept all the butter and/or rhubarb juices in the foil, not all over the oven! Then I baked it for 45 minutes at 350*, shut the oven off and left the cheesecake in for another 15 minutes. The whole family loves it and we will definitely make it again and again! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2002
I tried three rhubarb recipes the day i made this...one cake, one pie and this cheesecake. This cheescake was the best of the 3 I made AND I brought all three creations to work and again this cheesecake was rated the best of the three. I had to make probably 15 copies of this recipe to give out. It was SUPER easy to make. I had one minor problem....when I baked the rhubarb mixture for 15 minutes as directed, the liquid created by the rhubard leaked out of my sprinform pan and into my oven and that gooey stuff turned rock hard on the bottom of my oven. Oh well...the final result was sooooo fantastic, this little mess was well worth it and I'd do it again!!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by qsti
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Definately a 5-star recipe! The crust was perfect, neither too crisp nor too soggy, rhubarbs were soft and tasty, cream cheese was rich and creamy and the sour cream-topping added a final touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by qsti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallinn, Harju, Estonia
Living In: Vantaa, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
Fantastic. I, too, added 1/4 c chopped pecans to the crust, used 4 c rhubarb, and made sure to put my pan on a cookie sheet (and was glad I did). Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I made this for my dad's birthday, as his favorite desserts are made with rhubarb. I do think it needed more rhubarb than called for. That was also my first impression when I put it in the pan, but I didn't want to alter the recipe and possibly have it turn out wrong. The rhubarb really cooked down to a very thin layer of rhubarb. As a whole, it didn't have that strong rhubarb flavor I was looking for. The sour cream on top was just fine, though I was not sure I wanted to add it, I'm glad I did. I'd probably make this again, adding more rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Made this for Easter and it turned out great! I added 1/4 cup chopped pecans to the crust and it added a wonderful flavor. Also used lite cream cheese and lite sour cream and both worked just fine! This is a great new way to use rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
The crust was superb with chopped pecans. This recipe exceeded my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Double-Oven Lovin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2002
Soooo good. Will definatly make again and again. I also found it needed a good extra 30 minutes to set properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
What a great change from the everyday cheesecake. The rhubarb gave this cake a great, unique, tangy flavour. The crust was wonderfully different... like shortbread. I'll definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This cheesecake was amazing! I made it for a movie night during my weekend of rhubarb-madness. The shortbread-like crust was tasty on its own and I'll probably be putting that tasty sour cream topping on all of my cheesecakes from now on!!! I used half organic sugar and half raw sugar instead of white sugar, and I used 50/50 whole wheat flour and organic unbleached instead of regular all-purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NomNomDelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States