Rhubarb Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I was hesitantly excited to find a recipe for rhubarb cake that was so easy, but once I really paid attention to the instructions, I strongly suspected trouble. As I suspected. this recipe did not go well. In fact, this recipe was terrible. Shame on me for actually deciding to use a recipe with a mix. However, the mix is not to blame. This is simply a horrible method to produce a "cake", as member CHINDERS also alludes: "it never really turned into cake". I was severely disappointed and embarrassed that I had made the poor judgement to make it in the presence of my friends, who thankfully are not the snarky type.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dillon, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Not really a cake more of a crisp, pretty sweet, good with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peace River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I used a sugar-free cake mix, sugar-free jello, and artificial sweetener. It is wonderful! I also added an oatmeal and lite margarine crumble with 1/4 cup of brown sugar. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This recipe was tried by my husband who insisted there was no mixing or stirring. Well, there were spots and even large areas of just dry cake mix that didn't combine with the water or melted butter, so I sprayed those areas with PAM and left it in the oven for 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
this this the very best. fantastic. a keeper. the only change i would make it to use a little less sugar the next time. or add a bit more rhubarb. thank you Dmarks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I have made this with sugar free or no sugar added cake mix (Pillsbury) and also no sugar jello. It is sooo good. If you have someone in your family that is diabetic (like I do), this is a great recipe for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Awesome!! So fast and easy!! I used strawberry jello. Turned out like a cobbler and was a super hit!!! Will make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I made this yesterday when our friends came over for dinner. I did not have a yellow cake mix but used a spice cake mix I had on hand. I also used Jello Fusion - which was flavored cherry, orange, and something else I'm not sure what the third fruit flavor was. I increased the butter by about 2 tablespoons, I also increased the water by about 1/3 cup even though my rhubarb was frozen - baked it for the full 45 minutes - it turned out wonderful! I liked the fact that the spice cake added cinnamon and other spices which made it almost seem like a rhubarb crisp!. Thanks for the recipe - simple and quick as our invitation was spur of the moment. Topped with Blue Bell Vanilla Ice Cream! Yummy! Review from: Pat P. - Parker, Colorado
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I gave this recipe to a friend to try. Before she could bring me a piece to try, she and her husband ate it all. She made it with strawberry jello. I just made it for a family reunion and it was a big hit. My niece's husband couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Absolutely awesome! I did cut back on sugar as recommended by some other reviewers. Still sweet, and delicious! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States