Rhubarb Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This is a lovely little quick bread. I used 2 cups of rhubarb, pecans instead of walnuts, and tossed in a chopped apple. It is moist and flavorful and toasts up beautifully. I got rave reviews on this one. As others have said - baking time is way off. Mine took 55 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
The temp this is supposed to bake at is too low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Yummy. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This turned out SO well! Just wanted to let folks know, this recipe veganizes very easily and comes out pretty great. I made some substitutions based on preference and some just because I was missing ingredients (like I used white vinegar in place of lemon juice because I was out of lemon juice). I replaced half a cup of white flour w/ coconut flour (then added in an extra half cup of liquid so it didn't dry out). I used vanilla almond milk in place of regular milk, replaced half the oil with applesauce (as per other commenters), used a flax "egg" (1 Tbsp flax meal, 3 Tbsp water), added an extra half cup rhubarb (per another suggestion), used nearly a full tsp of cinnamon both in the batter AND in the topping, and anywhere it says oil or butter, used coconut oil. I did have to bake it a bit longer, but that often happens when I sub in coconut flour (and thus need extra liquid). SO GOOD. I was worried the sugar might be a bit high, but this bread is not too sweet at all, just enough to balance to tartness of the rhubarb. Definitely give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Koski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I only got to try a little of the bread on the ends because the baking time is WAY off. As soon as I took it out of the oven, both loaves sank in the middle. I should have known better, but didn't see anything in the reviews about increasing either the temp or the baking time, so I figured it'd be okay. It tasted good, and I'll make it again. Think I'll increase the temp to 350 and try for 40-45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I would replace the oil with yogurt or applesauce. Also, it needs more rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Delicious! I will definitely make this again. However, as has already been mentioned by previous reviewers, the baking time is way off - mine took about 55 minutes. I also used 8 x 4 pans rather than 9 x 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzo84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redditch, Worcestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I just made this and it was very good! The only problem for me was that at 325 degrees, my loaves took almost 65 minutes to cook, and they are not over cooked at all. Because of this, most of the large chunks of rhubarb cooked away so there are not a lot of bites of rhubarb left. Maybe my oven is baking at too low a temp but I have not noticed this with anything else. I just recommend to double the amount of rhubarb, and maybe bake it at 340, just to make sure it does not take an hour. Otherwise it is very good! I also doubled the topping like others recommend. I added a tsp. of cinnamon to the mix as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
The first loaf didn't rise well so I followed the advice of some reviewers and used 2 3/4 cup flour, 1.5 t baking soda, added 1/2 t cinnamon to the batter and used 2 eggs instead of 1. It is in the oven now and looks like it is rising much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
OMGosh! So happy I found this recipe. My hubby loves it and even though I'm not a rhubarb fan, I really liked it. I did have to cook it about 15 minutes longer but didn't mind because my kitchen smelled great and I swirled the topping. Definitely will be making this again! Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States