Rhubarb Bounce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Way too sweet with a cake that was too gooey, even though I added more time. Oh well, I will look for another recipe for rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by joyfulart
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Wow this turned out great! Here are the changes I made: 1) Added about 1/2 ground pecans to the melted butter, as well as some cinnamon. 2) Substituted buttermilk for the milk. This left the batter too dry, so I also added about 1/4 c. whole milk. Halved the sugar. 3) Dropped batter onto the butter base without trying to spread it evenly. 4) Added 1/2 c. - 2/4 c. fresh blueberries to the rhubarb mixture. Reduced sugar about half. Added some cinnamon. Baked until the fruit was bubbly and the cake was done all the way through. The butter, nutty base was wonderful, and looked like the base of a pecan cinnamon roll. Just right after about an hour of cooking. Served warm it's fantastic, but not beautiful. If this was for guests, I would add whipped cream or a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mom of ten
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
DELICIOUS!!!! the bottom was all sweet and yummy . The dough was fabulous!! I only had 3 cups of rhubarb so I added 1 cup of strawberries too and it was just amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amanda b
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
So easy and fast! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
We LOVED this! It took about 10 minutes longer to bake than the suggested time, but was well worth the wait. I used a two quart casserole for baking and served it with home made whipped cream. We will be having this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Pfliger Huber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
As my husband would say--it has jus the right of gooey awesomeness when you eat it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I was out of all-purpose flour, so I used the stone ground white wheat flour that I had on hand, added a bit more baking powder and milk, and instead of 4c of rhubarb, I did 2c frozen sour cherries and 2c rhubarb. Then, like others recommended, I put it all in the 9x13 baking dish. It took the 50 minutes, but probably because of the water in the frozen cherries. I am very much making this again! I can't wait to try it with Shiro plums!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
The first time I made this, I made it to the letter. It is very sweet, but my husband liked it, so I did not reduce the sugar. The batter isn't batter in my opinion, it is very thick, more like pizza dough, and it didn't bake up through the fruit, so it was hard to tell when it was done, so I cooked it for 70 minutes like some reviewers have, and it took that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I like this as a tasty and easy way to prepare rhubarb. I've made it 3 or 4 times now and I don't know how you're supposed to keep the butter on the bottom when you pour the batter on top of it ... that just won't happen. Not that it matters. It still turns out very good. I bake it for 55 min. per the recipe, but don't get the carmelization on the bottom that others have written about. I have started adding a smidge of cinnamon, and I reduce the amount of sugar to about 75% of the recipe. Will continue to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 92DORE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Made this today, baked it for 70 min., it was ok, but needs some cinnamon in the mixture to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States