Rhubarb Bounce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
We LOVED this! It took about 10 minutes longer to bake than the suggested time, but was well worth the wait. I used a two quart casserole for baking and served it with home made whipped cream. We will be having this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Pfliger Huber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
As my husband would say--it has jus the right of gooey awesomeness when you eat it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I was out of all-purpose flour, so I used the stone ground white wheat flour that I had on hand, added a bit more baking powder and milk, and instead of 4c of rhubarb, I did 2c frozen sour cherries and 2c rhubarb. Then, like others recommended, I put it all in the 9x13 baking dish. It took the 50 minutes, but probably because of the water in the frozen cherries. I am very much making this again! I can't wait to try it with Shiro plums!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
The first time I made this, I made it to the letter. It is very sweet, but my husband liked it, so I did not reduce the sugar. The batter isn't batter in my opinion, it is very thick, more like pizza dough, and it didn't bake up through the fruit, so it was hard to tell when it was done, so I cooked it for 70 minutes like some reviewers have, and it took that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I like this as a tasty and easy way to prepare rhubarb. I've made it 3 or 4 times now and I don't know how you're supposed to keep the butter on the bottom when you pour the batter on top of it ... that just won't happen. Not that it matters. It still turns out very good. I bake it for 55 min. per the recipe, but don't get the carmelization on the bottom that others have written about. I have started adding a smidge of cinnamon, and I reduce the amount of sugar to about 75% of the recipe. Will continue to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 92DORE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Made this today, baked it for 70 min., it was ok, but needs some cinnamon in the mixture to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This tasted ok as long as it was warm. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Florence, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I used a 9 x 13 pan and it was ready in about 35 min. so keep an eye on it. (the batter and fruit was more spread out in that type of pan so it cooked faster- I think.) I used a mix of rhubarb & sliced strawberries. I don't think it is too sweet, in fact I added powdered sugar to the top after it was done in hopes that it would taste sweeter. also serving with ice cream sounds good and might balance out the tartness of the rhubarb! Thanks for the recipe, it was fun to try it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Awesome! I made one small change to the recipe. I substituted some of the sugar coating for the rhubarb with a box of strawberry jello. I think it helped to thicken the liquid and added a pretty red color and nice strawberry flavor to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking momma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I'll make this recipe again, but with some modifications. First, it's too sweet! I know a previous review said this, but because that person used some sweeter fruits, I decided to try the recipe as written. Next time I'll try cutting the sugar in half. Hopefully that won't change the caramelized effect too much - I might cut closer to 2/3 cups of the sugar that gets mixed with the fruit and only cut 1/3 cup of the sugar that goes in the batter. Second: I foolishly put this in the fridge in the original dish, and now all of the delicious caramelized crust is stuck solidly to the sides. Next time I'll transfer it to something else first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States