Rhubarb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
bland and boring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brynne Baruch
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
This is a great starting place. I read the other reviews so I had added about 1/2 c. of sugar and a pinch of salt to beef up the crust. I had only 3 rhubarb stalks so I added about 1/2 pt. of fresh strawberries and a handful of dried raisins to the middle. For the topping I used 1/2 white and substituted 1/2 brown sugar, added about 1/2 cup of rolled oats and a dash of cinnamon. It was luscious. I think it needs that heavier crust to soak up the juice and it reminds me of shortbread cookies. The top became more like a crumble. It was a hit with my crew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brynne Baruch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
This recipe is delicious. I only had 3 cups of rhubarb, so I threw in 1 lb of mixed frozen berries. Also cut down the butter to 3/4 stick in crust and 3/4 sick in topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
I did not like the crust on these. They were too chewy. I am keeping this recipe and try replacing just the crust with my lemon bar crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
DELICIOUS!!! I added about a teaspoon of vanilla and a little salt to the crust. We were too impatient to wait for the bars to cool so it was more like a cobbler than a bar. Everyone liked them and had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Daughter who hates rhubarb came back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Made this today with fresh rhubarb, really good. My husband even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I loved the strawberry jello and rhubarb idea, but really didn't like the taste of the crust. A crust with a bit more sugar would be nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
These are SO easy and my kids think they are better than pie! I've made them twice. The first time followed the recipe as written and they were a hit at a party. The second time, I used half brown sugar and half white for the topping which resulted in a more golden brown color and a richer flavor which I preferred. Both times I made them in the jelly roll pan and they turned out great. Either way, if you like rhubarb, these are a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Made this exactly as directed. I agree with the majority of posters who liked the filling and topping but found the crust disappointing and tasteless. Will make again using a shortbread crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Lemon Cream Cheese Bars

Quick, easy, sweet and tangy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States