Rhubarb Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Awesome! I don't usually write reviews but after making this recipe I had to. With a big patch of rhubarb, I was getting tired of pies,and jams and thought I would give this recipe a try. I didn't use the smoke, and used paprika rather than chipotle, because it was what i had. It's so good my husband went out and bought chicken to BBQ so he could use the sauce. (I just caught him dipping his fingers in the sauce :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Very tasty way to use up some rhubarb! I left out the allspice and chipotle powder because I didn't have any on hand and instead added a generous sprinkle of cajun powder and paprika. I also used about 8 stalks of rhubarb because mine is quite skinny. We love to eat this on eggs and as a dip for steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Fantastic !!! What a refreshing change from traditional BBQ sauce ! I didn't have clove or chipolte pepper so I omitted that and added just a dash of Liquid Smoke. I've used this sauce on Salmon, chicken and veggie burgers. Thank you SO much, an absolute keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Brown-Bergmann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I'm super excited to try this on food. We just got done making it without the liquid smoke (didnt have any on hand)it was a little sweet so we added a 1/4 t. of dried habanero after we blended it and brought it back to a boil to thicken it up a little more to can it. We also doubled the recipe to share with family and friends. Thanks so much for a great alternative to rhubarb pies. To hot to turn the oven on today so this was a perfect way to use up our fresh rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charlene Skjerven
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Omg!! What a fabulous taste this has. I am tired of desert's made with rhubarb. This is the BEST sauce ever and so easy!! I'm a Canadian who now lives and is a citizen of the good old USA. My Canadian friends think it tastes like HP sauce and the Americans think it tastes like Lea & Perrins steak sauce!!! Wow again yummy!! I used Dr Pepper for the almond taste! Try it! You'll live it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene Skjerven
Living In: Hoople, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Okay, I really like this. I used Pepsi Max and 1/4 teaspoon almond extract. Used smoked chipolte hot sauce in place of powder. Skipped the liquid smoke and added 1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika. I thickened it a bit after I pureed the sauce with about 1 Tablespoon of cornstarch disloved in a small amount of the sauce. Stirred into remaining sauce, heated until just to start to boil and thicken. Stir constantly to prevent burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Redmond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I love a tangy, vinegar based bbq sauce. I love rhubarb and enjoy trying it in a new way every year in addition to the old favorites. This, is totally going to be an old favorite. I did not have Dr pepper or Worcestershire sauce on hand so I used a can of Pepsi and red wine vinegar instead. Delicious! Tangy, but not overpowering. Excellent on pulled pork sandwiches. I must stop at the store tonight to pick up some more rhubarb as well as the correct indigents to make more of this wonderful sauce for canning and use throughout the summer. Thank you so much for a completely different use and way of looking at the ‘pie plant’.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States