Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Wow! Don't tell my mother-in-law, but this recipe tops hers! Its amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MisNCy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breda, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I've used this recipe for several years and still get raving reviews. The balance of tart and sweet is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bennettkidschef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I did not have enough strawberries (some of them had gone bad in the fridge), so I added some cut up nectarines as an experiment. It came out delicious! I also forgot to add the butter before the top crust, but I didn't miss it at all. Definitely let it sit for hours and hours before cutting into it so that it will not be runny. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This is a revised review. I made this pie yesterday, let it cool completely, and sliced into it. It was runny and the juices pooled into the vacant area after taking the slice out. I had to drain it. However, I let the rest of the pie sit overnight, and it's not runny at all now. So, I would recommend making it the day before you need it for the best result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I'm not sure what I did wrong. I thought the pie was really runny and this is my third strawberry rhubarb pie recipe this summer. I didn't put a top on the pie, based on previous reviews, hoping that it would help evaporate some of the juice. No luck. I'll be using a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Hammond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Really good! I made it with frozen Strawberries and raw Rhubarb... I cubed the rhubarb 1/2 cubes. I cooked it for about 30 minutes with tinfoil hat so the rhubarb and strawberries would cook before the crust browned and then removed the tinfoil and cooked for about 25 more minutes. OMG sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
The flour in the filling gave it a pasty consistency and left a residue in my mouth. Not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Great recipe. This strawberry rhubarb pie comes out perfect if you follow the instructions. Let the strawberries and rhubarb sit with the flour and sugar for the 30 mins and use the lattice crust for the extra ventilation. In my opinion, strawberry rhubarb pie is best served cold, so let it cool! Served with whipped cream is even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaSuga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Very good, it is a must to cook the rubarb, strawberry, and flour sugar water mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Centsableone
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Wonderful pie. Followed the instructions with the following exceptions: baked at 425 for 15 minutes then reduced the heat to 375 for the remaining time. Also, we put foil over the crust in a tent once the high heat started to cause it to crust. Don't hesitate to try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Centsableone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States