Rhode Island Red Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This was a great base recipe, I added in some diced celery, minced garlic, and used a can of crushed tomatoes...Oh I also threw in a heaping tablespoon of Old Bay...it was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I submitted this recipe about 10 years ago. I continue to make it often. I live a weak stone's throw from the RI border. Forgive me for not knowing that RI's chowder is clear, as I have never had it. I just assumed that the red was yours because every eatery, from the City to all along the coast, offers either red or white. This recipe is a quick and easy fix for the red. The tomato soup and sauce in the recipe is not the major player. It's the 46-oz can of clam juice, which is not always easy to find. Add just enough tomato sauce for color. Thanks JimD for your review. I have the same memories of the Shore Dinner Hall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This recipe was fantastic. I swapped half of the carrots for celery—which I recommend to all. I'd like to take issue with the few negative reviews. I grew up in RI (1957) and have had red chowder, just like this, all of my life. I had done some research and the red, tomato-based chowder is traced to RI's Portuguese immigrants, who came with tomato-based soups. New Englanders called it "Manhattan" chowder as a derisive term, because it was not clear or white. But RI red chowder was always a fixture at George's in Galilee and at Iggy's and I wouldn't eat a clam cake without some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Almost spot on. My mom's RI Clam Chowder, (mostly from memory and Rocky Point Dinner Hall, mmm, can smell it now)! My mom always used 6 large Quahogs that she steamed and strained the broth with cheesecloth. She also added a can of chopped clams with liquid. She added minced celery, about two stalks minced, and two or three good shakes of celery seed to the end product. She did not add tomato sauce, just the tomato soup and used the hot broth to clean out the can and add to the broth. All the other ingredients in the base is really good. This is as good as it gets to Rocky Point Chowder!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Yum... This was great and very easy. I much prefer Red clam chowder over it's white counterpart. It's much healthier for you, too!!! I added a pinch of basil and oregano to mine for a little italian flair. If you're used to white, and have never had red clam chowder, it isn't really fair to compare the two. They are 2 different animals completely. 5 Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
My mom made RI clam chowder very similar to this but only with onions and potatoes. She added about 1/2 can of tomato soup for color only. It did not alter the flavor of the fresh clams dug up by my dad. I miss Rocky Point chowder now that I live in TX. Enjoyed all your comments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This is like a recipe that my mom taught me to use up leftovers from a clambake . I use V 8 or Clamato Juice and the water that the clams were steamed in . Made from scratch , it does go good on a cold wet day with a grilled cheese sandwhich .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This is actually a Manhattan Clam Chowder recipe, not Rhode Island as the title indicates. Living adjacent to Rhode Island, RI clam chowder is actually a clear broth...sort of like Manhattan without the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Actually, in addition to the clear chowder served in Rhode Island, there is indeed a tomato-based chowder that has long been a RI tradition/favorite -- what we call "Rocky Point Clam Chowder." Even though Rocky Point chowder has a tomato base, it's definitely not "Manhattan," it's 100% Rhode Island. This recipe is something of a version of that. It's not a bad chowder at all, but I just can't help comparing it to the real Rocky Point chowder I grew up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Ok so this is an ok version of Mahatten chowder. RI chowder is a clear chowder, using chicken broth and clams and spices...Not sure where the name came from, but it is an ok recipe all in the same...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMOMMYZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States