Rhode Island Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I have never had Rhode Island clam chowder. I had a lot of chicken stock that I had made and needed to use it up. This worked great. I used a 3lb can of clams that had 3cp of juice in it. I had some leftover bacon grease. I fried my onions, celery, garlic and small cubed russet potatoes w skins in the grease for added flavor. I added all of the seasonings as was listed and added a 1/4cp of white sine. This soup is delicious. I will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makeitfresh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Excellent with the following revisions (suggested by other reviewers): reduced dill to 2 tablespoons, black pepper to 1 teaspoon, used Snow's canned clams & fresh baby bliss potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Hickson Haliotis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Made this over the weekend it was fantastic .I doubled the recipe used fresh clams I used low salt chicken broth I didn't use the dill because I am not a fan of dill didn't do the salt and only added 2 teaspoons of the pepper everyone enjoyed .will be keeping this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I tried this earlier in the summer due to it's simplicity, the flavor was fantastic! However, I did omit the salt and cut the dill and the black pepper to 1 TBS each, it was still a little too hot (and I love hot food). Just made it again and dropped the pepper to 1 tsp. Much better! I used fresh potatoes both times and canned clams the 2nd time. I love the flavor of this chowder. It is a keeper! Thanks. To those who reviewed and said they added cream to it....you want a recipe for New England Clam chowder, the beauty of the RI style is the clear broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Absolutely delicious....I used fresh fingerling potatoes and the clams were fresh chopped... and only one tablespoons of dill and 4 squits of the Tabasco sauce and only a teaspoon of black pepper....also....I added bits of freshly made bacon (I know....not so healthy)...so delicious. Very quick and easy...a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
needed acidity. I ended up adding 1 chopped tomato and a good squirt of ketchup. It ended up being ok but I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I used fresh razor clams , fresh potatoes and a little less bill and we loved it. A great alternative for a much healthier clam chowder .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Excellent, I made the following changes to make it easier: fried garlic (I assume the omission of garlic was a typo! ha) and onions together in the sauce pan then added a 3lb can of chopped sea clams in juice (instead of 1lb clams and 3 cups of juice). After that came to a boil I added the rest of the ingredients. I used 5 celery stalks, added 3 carrots, and only used 1/2 tsp of dill. Amazing flavor, amazingly easy. Made again in a crockpot - perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kev321

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gales Ferry, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This is an excellent recipe. I used fresh clams but next time will double the amount of clams. I did not use cayenne or hot sauce but added a little red pepper flakes. We love onions so I used one large vidalia. I liked using the canned potatoes because they added to the ease of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Sock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I tried this recipe and it is good, but for my taste way too much dill. I am a midwest girl so maybe that is the dif in taste. Good though..may want to cut dill in half the first time and add next time according to taste. I used canned clams for this as fresh are expensive in my area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States