Reunion Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
SAUCE REVIEW ONLY: Needed a last minute addition to a "too-skimp" menu, but was pressed for time so I took a cheat and used frozen premade meatballs with the sauce in this recipe. The sauce was perfect and I got a lot of rave reviews--no one could believe I used frozen meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Made these almost exactly as directed, although I did reduce the salt a bit (figured the saltines had it covered). These are great! I made the meatballs a bit larger than called-for -- ended up making only ten. Next time (maybe even for a holiday potluck this coming weekend), I'll make 'em smaller, so there'll be more to go around! I'm thinking I'll acompany them with a small tub of buttered noodles.... Sauce is perfect. No need to enhance or substitute anything. Nice mix of sweet and tangy.... Thanks, Toni!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobo's Mama
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I used frozen meatballs from GFS because it is just so easy. I only added some bbq sauce to the sauce. These were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Loved this!!! It was a little too sweet for me, but my 5 year old LOVED IT. I'll make these again and cut back a smidge on the brown sugar and add a little hot sauce. Served over mashed taters, made my little dude the happiest boy ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly. It was pretty good. The meatballs themselves were tasty, but the sauce was a bit vinegary, I'll cut back on it next time. Also, the sauce was pretty thin, which was kinda dissapointing.Overall, it's good though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darlington, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I added 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes, 1/2 TSP yellow mustard to the meat mixture. Also cut the ketchup to 1/2 cup and BBQ sauce 1/2 cup (I will probably only use BBQ sause or only brown sugar next time -the sauce was too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
These had such amazing reviews, I really expected to like these more. Sorry! I thought they were just ok, but my husband did love them. I liked the meatballs themselves a lot, but I didn't care for the chili powder taste in the sauce and also the sauce was more watery that I would have liked. I did love not having to fry the meatballs so I think I will try the meatball recipe again and just change the sauce up a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
good. i halved the salt but didnt miss it. i served these on rice and made a cucumber and tomato salad. kids loved them my son said before school dont eat the rest i want them on a sandwich when i get home. made plenty for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
These were really, really good! Very tender and flavorful meatballs. I think next time I will put them on broil towards the end of cooking because I like the way the sauce gets crispy on top like on the top of a meatloaf. I didn't make any changes to the meatballs themselves but I did to the sauce. My husband isn't a fan of lots of ketchup so I cut the amount of ketchup and used equal parts of ketchup, bbq sauce and Heinz 57 sauce which was great. I served it with the "Brown Rice" recipe on this site and corn and peas. A great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
A local catering company makes delicious and different appetizer meatballs. I have tried several times to recreate them, this recipe come the closest to them. I use crushed ritz. Variations/additions to the sauce: cider vinegar, dry mustard, garlic powder, honey, and a ton of hot sauce! I like to bake them until they are deeply browned and then let them simmer in the sauce in a dutch oven or on low in the crockpot for hours so they are tender as can be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States