Reunion Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
SAUCE REVIEW ONLY: Needed a last minute addition to a "too-skimp" menu, but was pressed for time so I took a cheat and used frozen premade meatballs with the sauce in this recipe. The sauce was perfect and I got a lot of rave reviews--no one could believe I used frozen meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Made these almost exactly as directed, although I did reduce the salt a bit (figured the saltines had it covered). These are great! I made the meatballs a bit larger than called-for -- ended up making only ten. Next time (maybe even for a holiday potluck this coming weekend), I'll make 'em smaller, so there'll be more to go around! I'm thinking I'll acompany them with a small tub of buttered noodles.... Sauce is perfect. No need to enhance or substitute anything. Nice mix of sweet and tangy.... Thanks, Toni!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobo's Mama
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I used frozen meatballs from GFS because it is just so easy. I only added some bbq sauce to the sauce. These were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Loved this!!! It was a little too sweet for me, but my 5 year old LOVED IT. I'll make these again and cut back a smidge on the brown sugar and add a little hot sauce. Served over mashed taters, made my little dude the happiest boy ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly. It was pretty good. The meatballs themselves were tasty, but the sauce was a bit vinegary, I'll cut back on it next time. Also, the sauce was pretty thin, which was kinda dissapointing.Overall, it's good though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darlington, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I added 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes, 1/2 TSP yellow mustard to the meat mixture. Also cut the ketchup to 1/2 cup and BBQ sauce 1/2 cup (I will probably only use BBQ sause or only brown sugar next time -the sauce was too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
These had such amazing reviews, I really expected to like these more. Sorry! I thought they were just ok, but my husband did love them. I liked the meatballs themselves a lot, but I didn't care for the chili powder taste in the sauce and also the sauce was more watery that I would have liked. I did love not having to fry the meatballs so I think I will try the meatball recipe again and just change the sauce up a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
good. i halved the salt but didnt miss it. i served these on rice and made a cucumber and tomato salad. kids loved them my son said before school dont eat the rest i want them on a sandwich when i get home. made plenty for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
These were really, really good! Very tender and flavorful meatballs. I think next time I will put them on broil towards the end of cooking because I like the way the sauce gets crispy on top like on the top of a meatloaf. I didn't make any changes to the meatballs themselves but I did to the sauce. My husband isn't a fan of lots of ketchup so I cut the amount of ketchup and used equal parts of ketchup, bbq sauce and Heinz 57 sauce which was great. I served it with the "Brown Rice" recipe on this site and corn and peas. A great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
A local catering company makes delicious and different appetizer meatballs. I have tried several times to recreate them, this recipe come the closest to them. I use crushed ritz. Variations/additions to the sauce: cider vinegar, dry mustard, garlic powder, honey, and a ton of hot sauce! I like to bake them until they are deeply browned and then let them simmer in the sauce in a dutch oven or on low in the crockpot for hours so they are tender as can be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States