Reuben Sandwich II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
I followed the recipe pretty closely but used some reviewers suggestions. I drained the sourkraut but didn't rinse it, because we like the tangy taste of the sourkraut. I buttered rye bread slices on one side and spread Thousand Island dressing on the other side. On the dressing side I placed a slice of swiss cheese, sliced Pastrami from the deli and then topped with sourkraut. I cooked them on my George Foreman grill until the cheese was melted and the bread was nice and toasted. They were delicious! I only gave the four star rating because the sourkraut in the middle wasn't very warm. Next time I make these I will warm the sourkraut in the microwave first and maybe add another slice of swiss too! If you like Rueben sandwiches you will love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
517 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Great sandwich. The only change I made was to heat the sauerkraut in the microwave for 20 seconds before adding to the sandwich. I like my sandwich warmed all the way through. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
368 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
These were great. I used George Foreman grill, which was easy and quick. I don’t like soggy bread, so I put the dressing and sauerkraut between the meat and cheese. I also only used one slice of cheese per sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
334 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I work as a grill cook at Cracker Barrel, and while the Reuben is one of the most annoying things to make at a busy time, It doesn't take nearly 45 minutes to make. Maybe 5 at most from start to finish. If this recipe works for you, then good. However, we do it quite differently. We start off by putting approximately 1/4 cup sauerkraut (we never measure it, we just grab some) on the grill, and a bag of about the same amount of chip corn beef on top of that. Then we put two pieces of bread down with some butter, and put two pieces of swiss cheese on each piece of bread. Once the sauerkraut and beef has heated up for a minute or two, we put it on one piece of bread, and put the 1000 island dressing on the other piece. As I said before, it shouldn't take more than 5-10 minutes to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
A good mustard is the way to make a Reuben. Down in south Alabama we did not start hearing about this thousand island business until about 10 years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
So good, but grilling each side on medium heat for 15 minutes each?! The bread would have been charred! Mine were perfectly browned at about 5-6 minutes per side. I would recommend keeping a good eye on your bread and toast it to your liking. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Hubby and I love this sandwich. I like to use the sweeter "bavarian style" sauerkraut with the caraway seeds. Somtimes I change it up and use mustard instead of thousand island dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Great sandwich! The classics never die! This was so good and so easy to make. If you use good quality ingredients you'll end up with a wonderful sandwich. I used "Thousand Island Dressing II" from this site. Perfect for a quick lunch - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by VJGUNKEL59
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Well liked by all. I also spread the 1000 island dressing between meat and cheese to keep bread from getting soggy, and agree with another review, you have to use butter, not margerine. Use deli corned beef and you have the genuine deal here. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
My husband's favorite sandwich is a reuben, and he usually goes to a local deli for one. I wanted to be able to make them at home for him, can I came upon this recipe--it was very well received!! I've made it several times since I found it in early 2005, and the only change I make is to use a little more thousand island dressing than the recipe calls for since that is my husband's favorite part
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDYNBRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States