Reuben Sandwich II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I make my Reubens the same way only I put horseradish sauce instead of thousand island dressing. Makes a nice touch that everyone seems to like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I used to make Reuben's in a restaurant, and I got great raves for mine. To improve on this sandwich, I would add more corned beef, and also add an equal amount of Pastrami. The total meat weight of 12 oz. In the New York Deli, they put 1 lb. of meat on each sandwich. Also mix the sauerkraut and dressing, and put it in the middle of the sandwich, so the bread doesn't get soggy. Also, wring out the sauerkraut, so it's not wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polyhistor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I mix the Thousand Island dressing with the well drained sauerkraut. It helps hold the kraut together and allows the flavors to begin marrying. The heat from toasting the completed sandwich in the pan or grill will hasten the melding of the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Sounds good, but kinda skimpy on the corned beef ( 2 slices???). I load mine with deli thin sliced corned beef or pastrami (preferred) and use my Cuisinart "Griddler" to toast and press them. Results are always excellent with sides of dill pickles and home made potato salad. Never met a Reuben I didn't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jslingo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clearwater Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I make these sandwiches alot . I use Kraft sandwich spread instead of the thousand Island dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
A great base recipe to learn how to make a Reuben but you gotta cook your own meat! It's too easy to skip. Instead of deli meat, I used "Slow Cooked Corned Beef for Sandwiches" from this site. If butter is banned at your house like it is in mine, using cooking spray works just as well to make the bread crispy. I also used Publix 2% swiss cheese and Publix fat-free dressing. Made a good and practically guilt-free sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
My husband and I was really skeptical, but we really enjoyed these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Good taste but very soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I could eat one of these every day. As good as what I get at my local restaurant. I honestly can't believe I made a reuben that turned out so great. Thank you for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
this is the same as my moms recipe and i have been making them for 20 years, if you put a lid on the pan while toasting the sandwiches, the whole sandwich will be hot and the cheese will be melted. so wonderful and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States