Reuben Sandwich II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Followed another reviewer's recommendation and lightly toasted bread before assembling the sandwich...that and pressing out extra liquid from the sauerkraut were great tips to avoid sugginess. Added extra slices of the corned beef and another light layer of the dressing. Also found this cooked better on low heat. This recipe's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This was VERY good and very easy. I used a nice marbled rye and instead of corned beef I used pastrami. I've made this several times already and it is delicious. Thanks Colette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dillsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I make the Rachel version of this sandwich using Smoked Turkey Breast, since I love this sandwich, but not a fan of Corned Beef. I also use Baby Swiss cheese for a milder flavor and light Thousand Island dressing...it's soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
If you really want a good grilled sandwich you need to brown the inside of the bread first. Then assemble and cook the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mysteryman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Have always loved Reubens, but learned a little "secret" many years ago from a chef while attending Food/Beverage management courses: 1. Use French dressing rather than the traditional Thousand Island. Different flavor altogether. 2. Drain and wash sauerkraut, and press with paper towel to dry before assembling sandwich. 3. Brown both sides of bread so sandwich is not soggy. Just these few little changes make a lot of difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Marshall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Excellent!!!! I had coleslaw on the side too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I make my Reubens the same way only I put horseradish sauce instead of thousand island dressing. Makes a nice touch that everyone seems to like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I used to make Reuben's in a restaurant, and I got great raves for mine. To improve on this sandwich, I would add more corned beef, and also add an equal amount of Pastrami. The total meat weight of 12 oz. In the New York Deli, they put 1 lb. of meat on each sandwich. Also mix the sauerkraut and dressing, and put it in the middle of the sandwich, so the bread doesn't get soggy. Also, wring out the sauerkraut, so it's not wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polyhistor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I mix the Thousand Island dressing with the well drained sauerkraut. It helps hold the kraut together and allows the flavors to begin marrying. The heat from toasting the completed sandwich in the pan or grill will hasten the melding of the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Sounds good, but kinda skimpy on the corned beef ( 2 slices???). I load mine with deli thin sliced corned beef or pastrami (preferred) and use my Cuisinart "Griddler" to toast and press them. Results are always excellent with sides of dill pickles and home made potato salad. Never met a Reuben I didn't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jslingo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clearwater Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States