Reuben Sandwich II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
Just 'built" a couple of these and they are great! The kids don't like the sauerkraut, or corned beef, so this is a "grownup" sandwich in my house! They only took 5 minutes per side, but I weighed the sandwich down with a heavy pan on top. VERY delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
My husband loved this! So easy he made it for himself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKY584

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
Fantastic! I used pumpernickel bread & subbed mozzarella for the swiss (I don't normally have swiss in the house, because nobody really cares for it on a regular basis) & put some horseradish sauce on it....YUM! Thanks for sharing Colette, we eat these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Even though I don't much care for Reuben Sandwiches, my hubby just loves them. He says that these tasted just like the ones he ate in NYC, which is praise of the highest order!! I will make these for him every year on his birthday from now on...thanks so much Colette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pretty_in_pink_pa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
This was pretty good, but my kids hated the Thousand Island dressing! I will just leave that off next time. When I toasted them in a big heavy skillet, I also weighed them down with another pan and a big heavy can inside the pan. They came out nicely browned and all the "goodies" stayed inside the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
Reubens are always good, but keep lots of water handy. Soooooo salty your ankles will swell!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
Ruebens are my all-time favorites and this recipe is absolutely bang-on. My days of going to the restaurant to order them are over - I can make 'em myself now. Thanks Colette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
Great sandwich - my husband thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUL567

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
This is THE Reuben! Taste just as good as the diner's. I only made one and really didn't follow the directions and it tasted great! Pressing the sandwich a bit really helps keeps everything from shifting all over the place when you turn it. but it would be great if this was made on a panini gril also! Make sure you have the heat on low enough so it takes enough time to melt the cheese and warm the corned beef and saurkraut. Also, I'm a butter girl, but think you would HAVE to make this with butternot margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rondadee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
These sandwiches were great! Had to make something quick for just me and the hubby and this definitely hit the spot! Served with cream of broccoli soup and a plate of assorted olives, roasted peppers and pickles! Delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States