Reuben Sandwich II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This recipe is ok. It is missing something taste-wise, but I can't figure out what is missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
We love Reubens, I also heat the kraut & corned beef either in the skillet or microwave remember just heat don't cook! The sandwich is then warm in the middle and not cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Shamasko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Show Low, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Excellent recipe. I used pumpernickel instead of rye and buttered one side of each slice of bread, then laid them on the griddle with a couple slices of Swiss cheese on top and spread about a teaspoon of dressing on each face. In the interim, I heated the sauerkraut and corned beef in the microwave on high (90 seconds per sandwich's worth). By the time the beef and sauerkraut are done, the bread is toasted and the cheese is melted. Combine and voila! Reuben perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
It was great but I had no thousand island so us done tablespoon of olive oil salad dressing,one tablespoon of horseradish and one tablespoon of spicy mustard and mixed together it was fair greaT substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Point Pleasant, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I ran a kitchen for yrs. this is what we did with the exception I added a bit of garlic powder. There was also a Pruben on the menu where Pastrami is substituted for the corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Oh, seriously delicious! I used Boar's Head corned beef (you MUST use excellent quality corned beef for a great Reuben!) and had them slice it very thin. Be sure to cover your pan while you brown these and keep them on a medium/low heat. This will ensure that the sandwich is warm in the middle with nicely melted cheese and perfectly browned bread. (15 minutes per side is waaayyy too long, so disregard that in the recipe directions.) I am not a fan of Russian dressing, but love TI, so that is what I use and enjoy on this sandwich. Oh, and rinsing the sauerkraut is a must unless you adore it and love a very strong taste of it in your sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I have to take responsibility for using the dressing which I do not care for. Love Reuban sandwiches but the dressing ruined it, for me. Instead of butter I brushed the bread with olive oil. If you have a George Foreman grill it does a great job on this classic sandwich. Donna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I work as a grill cook at Cracker Barrel, and while the Reuben is one of the most annoying things to make at a busy time, It doesn't take nearly 45 minutes to make. Maybe 5 at most from start to finish. If this recipe works for you, then good. However, we do it quite differently. We start off by putting approximately 1/4 cup sauerkraut (we never measure it, we just grab some) on the grill, and a bag of about the same amount of chip corn beef on top of that. Then we put two pieces of bread down with some butter, and put two pieces of swiss cheese on each piece of bread. Once the sauerkraut and beef has heated up for a minute or two, we put it on one piece of bread, and put the 1000 island dressing on the other piece. As I said before, it shouldn't take more than 5-10 minutes to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Best Reuben Sandwich ever...just like the deli when I was growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States