Reuben Sandwich II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
The only way I would do this different is saute the sauerkraut until browned in some beef broth, to give it some flavor and then add it to the sandwich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Simple, good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Carson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
It really tastes better if you slow cook the kraut for a couple of hours before making the sandwich. Of course it is also much better if you have some course mustard mixed with some horseradish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Ingredients are fine but assembly and cooking need help. here's the secret: 1. Heat the corned beef and sauerkraut separately in the microwave until just warm 2. Put cheese on one piece of bread, Corned beef on the other 3. Put sauerkraut in middle with Thousand Island on it (keeps bread from getting soggy) 4. Simplify your life- don't butter the bread. Put a pat butter in the pan and melt just before you put sandwich in. When side toasts pick up with spatula, add another pat of butter turn over. **For best results heat should be on the low side of medium-low. Use a frying pan with a lid. This holds in the heat and ensures the inside is warm and outside isn't burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Delicious. The sandwiches are hard to flip over on the griddle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twoyorkiesmom
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Great recipe! Easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twoyorkiesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Great with corned beef or pastrami. If you are making a bunch for a crowd, I find it is easier to bake them in the oven. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper, and put buttered sandwiches on the cookie sheet. Bake at 450F for 5 minutes, turn Reubens over, and bake 5 minutes more. Perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Try doing the grill thing and put a smaller frying pan on top of the sandwich to press it down aka a panini. If it smells like smoke, turn down the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fleetwood, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
My wife prefers to have the kraut drained and rinsed, otherwise the smell is too strong for her. I tend to stack more corned beef to give the sandwich that deli look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Sarsany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This a great recipe. I mixed the thousand island into the sourkraut ala restaurant style. It's fabulous - the sweet dressing mixed in with the kraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States