Reuben Sandwich II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Great recipe! The only change I would make is to spread mayo on each side of the bread, then toast one side of each piece. The toasted side will become the inside of your sandwich when you grill it. Two great things happen when you do this: first, the bread is nice and crisp on both sides and soft in the middle; second,the toast has a little bit of a sweet taste to counter the tartness of the sauerkraut. Try it once and judge for yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet Henderson
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Very good! I made this last night and it was perfect. I had one for lunch today too, it was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Excellent recipe! We like marble rye bread...made with seasoned sweet potato fries :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa JoAnna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
These are tremendous. I make them with my own corned beef briskit made in a slow cooker the day before. The meat tastes better but I don't have the ability to shave it like a deli can, so there is a trade-off. Also I mix the kraut and dressing together before I spread it on the bread. The kraut stays on better that way. It helps to mash the sandwiches a little with the spatula while they're cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Man

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
this is a great sandwich! I built the sandwich exactly as written and it did not come out soggy at all, as some other reviewers had described. it was perfect! warm and melty on the inside, nice and grilled on the outside. I did warm the sauerkraut in a small saucepan before adding it to the sandwich. do NOT substitute the butter for margarine – the butter taste really makes a difference here. also, the cooking time seems to be way off. 15 minutes per side is definitely too long. 5-6 minutes per side is all it needs! I have made these 4 times this month – soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This was a wonderful sandwich, can't wait for my daughter to try it. I usually make corned beef and cabbage but this time I wanted to use my corned beef a different way. I'm so glad I found this recipe, I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
GRRRRRRRRRRReat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This was terrific! I used the Thousand Island Dressing from this site, and it came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Really great!! I made as written and they came out perfectly!!! I cooked them on the pan and turned them over pretty frequently so they didn't burn and all the ingredients were warm and the cheese was melted perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Great!. An old favorite. We sometimes make Reuben snacks/appetizers by using party rye, canned deviled ham, sauerkraut, thin Swiss - broiled til cheese melts. But this sandwich is just so so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States