Reuben Sandwich II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Brittany
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
LOVE this recipe, used it but doubled the cheese and beef and heated the kraut for 20 seconds before putting the sandwich in the skillet. Toasted on each side for 10 minutes, long enough to give it a golden toast color that's beautiful and not to dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Made as directed except I heated saurkraut until warm. Don't rinse kraut just drain. It doesn't take that long to brown, watch so sandwich doesn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tipton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Awesome with the leftovers from mauigirl's Braised Corned Beef Brisket. I did cook an onion in a little olive oil and added the sauerkraut to warm through. I used Not Thousand Island Dressing by Mike Harvey, dePITA. Cannot wait for my next homemade Reuben, thanks ColetteG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Great recipe! The only change I would make is to spread mayo on each side of the bread, then toast one side of each piece. The toasted side will become the inside of your sandwich when you grill it. Two great things happen when you do this: first, the bread is nice and crisp on both sides and soft in the middle; second,the toast has a little bit of a sweet taste to counter the tartness of the sauerkraut. Try it once and judge for yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet Henderson
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Very good! I made this last night and it was perfect. I had one for lunch today too, it was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Excellent recipe! We like marble rye bread...made with seasoned sweet potato fries :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa JoAnna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
These are tremendous. I make them with my own corned beef briskit made in a slow cooker the day before. The meat tastes better but I don't have the ability to shave it like a deli can, so there is a trade-off. Also I mix the kraut and dressing together before I spread it on the bread. The kraut stays on better that way. It helps to mash the sandwiches a little with the spatula while they're cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Man

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
this is a great sandwich! I built the sandwich exactly as written and it did not come out soggy at all, as some other reviewers had described. it was perfect! warm and melty on the inside, nice and grilled on the outside. I did warm the sauerkraut in a small saucepan before adding it to the sandwich. do NOT substitute the butter for margarine – the butter taste really makes a difference here. also, the cooking time seems to be way off. 15 minutes per side is definitely too long. 5-6 minutes per side is all it needs! I have made these 4 times this month – soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This was a wonderful sandwich, can't wait for my daughter to try it. I usually make corned beef and cabbage but this time I wanted to use my corned beef a different way. I'm so glad I found this recipe, I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States