Reuben Sandwich I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
We have mades this many times - great, quick sandwhich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Fairly easy.......but nothing special....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Great recipe! Thank you! I did cook down the sauerkraut with sugar, while that was heating I pulled all the meat apart and mixed it up in a frying pan on medium heat. My husband said that sometimes the Reuben is hard to eat because the meat slips out when trying to bite it, but since I broke all the meat up he didn't have a problem with the three that he did eat! This was a hit with my children as well! I served it with cole slaw! Thanks again for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This is a great recipe. It's so easy and delicious! I didn't have the dressing on hand so I made my own using the Thousand Island Dressing II recipe from this website and it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Actually a "Rachel" is typically made with turkey breast - not pastrami. In fact, you can use this same recipe with many different types of meat - all with their own unique flavors. It's a nice variation from corned beef. However, I must say that a lean (typically much more expensive at the deli - but worth it) corned beef is my absolute favorite. And, I use marbled rye instead of just plain old rye bread. Yes - recipe is intended to be messy - but if you have the right mix of sauerkraut and thousand island, it almost acts as a "glue" in holding the sandwiches together. I find that the easiest way to make these is on a lightly greased griddle rather than a frying pan. Wide, flat surface area makes it easy to flip and gives the bread a more even doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermitage, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I have been making this wonderful sandwich for years. I rarely buy sauerkraut, so I use coleslaw instead. Try it, you'll be amazed at how satisfying it is, particularly for those persons who do not like sauerkrat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This is a great recipe and actually the one my office cafeteria uses. They grill the bread seperate on a bread grill, and the meat on the griddle, folding/layering the cheese between the slices of pastrami. They slice it in half and add potatoe chips (sour cream and onion for this) and this is the lunch I eat once a week at least!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dixie'sMom
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This is one of my favorite sandwiches. Use corned beef or pastrami depending on your preference and make sure the sauerkraut is well drained. I like to spread a small amount of Miracle Whip on the outside of the bread before frying. I find it results in a beautifully browned sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Very good. Easy to make. I made them for some friends for lunch. I got the compliment of "best reuben I've ever had!" I used the cheap packaged corned beef (surprise!) instead of pastrami and SEEDLESS rye bread. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States