Reuben Sandwich I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
As jB points out, a "pastrami Reuben" is usually called a "Rachel" (although in Baltimore, a "Rachel" is more likely to be made with coleslaw rather than sauerkraut). Either way, we find it easier to spread margarine or butter on the top of the assembled sandwich, then melt butter/margarine in the pan and grill the un-buttered side first, then turn and grill the other side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Antosiak

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Yes very good my husband loved this sandwich,first time having a reubun yum-o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This recipe was fantastic. I made my first Reuben tonight and it turned out fantastic. I didn't change a think from the recipe. So easy to make and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Delicious sandwich! I had to use American cheese because I was out of Swiss, and it was still tasty. Even my pickiest eater in the household ate it! I like Granny Loohoo's tip about heating the meat and the sauerkraut separately. You definitely need a griddle instead of a pan, because these sanwiches require two hands to flip and to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mochick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Best tasting Reuben, you will think you are at a great restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is a great basic Reuben (pastrami better then corned beef). Keep it simple. Don't forget a good hairy mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I've made these for my kids and they love them. Nice and simple, my kind of recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Delicious! Used sourdough bread, and it was awesome. Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Very good recipe. I made these for a group and the true "Reuben" lovers just loved these. I don't eat red meat so I made mine with sliced Boar's head turkey from the deli and Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I made my own rye bread which made it turn out fantastic. I only gave 4 stars because I put the sauerkraut in a pan and browned it a bit and then put the sandwich together. It was the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States