Reuben Sandwich I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Made both corn beef and pastrami. Great and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Skid Markley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This is a wonderful sandwich! I had a craving for a Reuben, and bought the pastrami, so I guess it's a "Rachel". I didn't see marbled rye at our local market, so I bought a wonderful Idaho sour dough (yes, Apicella makes a really good sourdough bread). REALLY GOOD GOOD GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA HUME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
God bless all you reviewers. I love Rubens, but wanted to try pastrami this time. Last restaurant version I tried used Russian dressing instead of 1000Island. I did not notice anyone commenting on that so will try Russian next time. I love the cole slaw instead of kraut on the Rachael. I love the idea of "assemble your own". I prefer kraut with caraway seed, but none of the family does. I also plan to try the turkey another reviewer suggested. If you don't like kraut, try red cabbage in the jar - not sure of brand name. I agree with one reviewer who recommended Classen brand kraut. I too cook the kraut, season with a bit of crumbled bacon (not bacon bits) or bacon drippings and diced white onion. I don't care how you fix it, it is mouthwatering delicious. For me, no sides. For company, baked beans, German style potato salad, variety of pickles, rings of red onion, brown mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I agree with JB. A proper Reuben is made with corned beef. Also very important in making a Reuben that does not fall apart in your hands while eating it: squeeze, not drain, all possible liquid from the kraut before building the sandwich. The best kraut I have found is the Clausson brand, sold in jars in the refrigerator case next to their also excellent pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I liked it, I liked all ingredients but the kraut, or maybe because it was the supermarket brand canned stuff. I am 37 years old and never had sauerkraut, my hubby had and likes "Rachels" so I tried it....he said it was just ok, he thought it was the type of kraut too. But all other ingredients were good, I ate the other 1/2 of mine without the kraut and liked it. Maybe its just me, is there a brand of kraut I should use instead of the other stuff?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
it has been a very long time since i have had a reuben sandwich. i didn't change a thing with this recipe, even though it was so easy to fix it was absolutely the best reuben i have ever had. i give it ten stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Yummy, quick, easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woodfairie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
As jB points out, a "pastrami Reuben" is usually called a "Rachel" (although in Baltimore, a "Rachel" is more likely to be made with coleslaw rather than sauerkraut). Either way, we find it easier to spread margarine or butter on the top of the assembled sandwich, then melt butter/margarine in the pan and grill the un-buttered side first, then turn and grill the other side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Antosiak

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Yes very good my husband loved this sandwich,first time having a reubun yum-o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States