Reuben Sandwich I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This our favorite lunch now. The only change is we use turkey pastrami. This is just wonderful and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
It turned out good! I made two different kinds. I was making food for my parents and me, my mom's lotos-intolent, so I made hers with hot mustard,and just a little chese. I made the others with more chese, i picked gouda, which turned out delious with the sandwhich. I also used apple sauerkaaynt, with garlic yogurt dressing, instead of thousand island, because I didn't have any. I used both corn beef and pastrami, three slics each, and sliced them in half ,in triangles. AAfter using on a skill, I baked in the oven. What I'd change next time less gouda, less sauerkraunt, maybe I'd still use apple, but use yogurt sauce with no garlic. Well, other than that, it was perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheri
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
My husband was so happy when he came home and realized I was making this for dinner! Very delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
A basic recipe for a "rachel". It is what it is. Everything turned out wonderfully. I used Boar's Head brand deli pastrami, kraut, and Swiss cheese (thicker sliced, one slice/sandwich) and lite 1,000 Island dressing (no sacrifice in flavor). Since I controlled the amount of dressing and kraut, the sandwiches did not fall apart like in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMM104

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I loved this transgender sandwich!(Rachael or Rueben, who cares) I did heat the sauerkraut as well as the pastrami - cornbeef. I made with both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
a Rachel is a Rueben with Turkey Pastrami. Not beef pastrami :O))) A Rueben is with corned beef = less fat...or pastrami = more fat = more flavor... if you want to add a little zing, put grey poupon on one half and thousand island on the other half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
The method of cooking this sandwich is right on, but a true Reuben is made with Corned beef, and not pastrami. For those who don't like the tang of sauerkraut, you might want to drain it well, then saute it for a few minutes in a little butter or oil (maybe like a teaspoon of oil) just until it starts to get a little brown. Let the kraut cool a bit then assemble the sandwiches. Reubens are wonderful! I've also made these with turkey, and roast beef. Haven't tried ham yet, but that would probably work too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Nice recipe and quite tasty. Although, next time I will try it with a bit less sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gothenburg, Västra Götalands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I love to use pastrami instead of corned beef. I make them in the toaster oven so it's really fast. Serve with fries or coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Easy and delicious. I would only add mustard, but that's personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States