Reuben Hot Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
I like this recipe, because it is a change from the ordinary, yet delicious. I modify it by doubling the corn beef and rye bread. Then, I keep the bread in cubes after drying it. One suggestion--if using very heavy egg noodles (like kluski), make sure to boil first, and reduce the milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keene, Texas, USA
Living In: Clifton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I just love this recipe - it really tastes authentic! Just keep an eye on your ingredients & make sure that you are using equal parts of everything so that one flavor doesn't overpower another. Thanks for this unique recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahFriedman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Really good and easy. I followed the advice of other reviewers: drained sauerkraut but did not squeeze, preboiled the noodles, cubed bread and left it that way and doubled the butter. The proportions were perfect. I would change nothing else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
Very good. Kraut doesn't overpower the other tastes. I used pork kielbasa and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Loxahatchee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
Not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
It was easy--and it oven cooks for an hour so plenty of time to leave it and do other things. I used mild sauerkraut and reduced it just a little (15 oz. cans). I had no trouble at all with the noodles, but frankly I eyeballed them and they worked out to a single even layer, so I think maybe this is a recipe you have to use the perfect sized baking dish for. I also didn't squeeze-drain my sauerkraut, just drained it loosely and had plenty of liquid. Used a little extra bread--just cubed instead of crushed--and was glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
Very tasty, satisfying meal. As recommended by most other reviewers, I used more rye bread than shown (I cubed a whole loaf of rye bread for the topping). My mods: I used deli-sliced provolone cheese instead of swiss cheese, tripled the onion, poured 1/2 water over the noodle-layer (to make sure they all cooked), used 1/2 more milk than shown, and left out the sauerkraut. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
Excellent! I took this to a picnic and everyone loved it! Would definately use more bread crumbs next time since you couldn't taste a whole lot of the rye bread which I love. A definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
I used turkey pastrami and reduced fat cream soup, and it still tasted great. I even used homemade rye bread! You have to be a fan of sauerkraut though, b/c the tanginess can be overwhelming, but I love a good reuben sandwich, so I'm not afraid. It makes a ton though, so be prepared for the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
My family LOVES this dish; I have made it at least 5 times by now. The only problem I had was some of the noodles not getting saturated enough to soften; they were still uncooked - I simply cooked the noodles while I was assembling the other ingredients and cut the cooking time down to 25-30 minutes. This is a keeper - it is already typed up and in my recipe book to pass down to my kids!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States