Reuben Hot Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Made this for the wife and I. We liked it very much. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I made this for a group and they all liked it. I'm giving it three stars because of a bunch of edits. Some changes I made: Used one can sauerkraut, this was just right. Then I substituted cream of chicken for the mushroom soup because I feared that the mushroom would taste too strong with the other flavors. This turned out well. I also used more onion. The egg noodles were cooked for about 5 minutes, and I put some of the soup mixture right on top of the sauerkraut and then layered the noodles on to integrate the flavors better. Changes I would make next time: More rye bread - I made about 2 cups of cubed bread but it still wasn't enough. It just speckled the cheese on top, but you couldn't taste the rye bread flavor. I'd also add more corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
My family loved this dish. I did precook the noodles and added thousand island dressing. I doubled the amount of bread and would probably add more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Husband loves this recipe! He says it gets better as it sits. I did add a whole onion chopped, a heaping tablespoon horseradish, 12-16 ounces sliced swiss cheese & ten slices of rye bread buttered then cubed & put on top of cheese. This is the second time I've made this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was awesome. I added more onion (1/2 cup total), I used 16 oz corned beef, provolone cheese instead of swiss, and I put in 2 cups of the bread and kept them cubed. However, based on other reviews, I cooked the noodles ahead of time, and I was only able to fit about 1/2 of them in the baking dish (13x9). So I only used about 4 oz of noodles. Next time I will double the bread (to make 4 cups) since that was the best part! Although, I think I will cut the recipe in half. We had a whole half pan left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lili Goehring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
VERY tasty! It is a great way to use leftover corned beef and tastes just like a reuben sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Fabulous!!! My husband & I stuffed ourselves on this last night. I made it in a deep baking dish that was a bit smaller than 9x13. Some changes I made were: used 1 can sauerkraut, pre-cooked the egg noodles, increased to 3 cups Swiss cheese, tore rye bread into tiny pieces and fried them in butter and then topped casserole with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liammom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Excellent! I no trouble with the noodles... just pushed them down into the saurkraut so they sat at the bottom of the dish in the liquid. I agree it needs more bread crumbs.. and cubes would be just fine/easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I really like Reuben sandwiches and I thought I would like this more than I did. It is good and my wife liked it a more than I did. I can't quite put my finger on what is missing or wrong. Next time I will try a little more corned beef and a little less sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brown City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Its great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States