Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This casserole was excellent I did use more of the dressing than is called for as others had suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I followed the recipe to the letter. The bread was so soggy on the bottom it was just gross. With corned beef at $8.00 a pound, I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nolagyrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I put the casserole together the night before so I inverted the recipe (the bread was on top). I used leftover Guinness Corned Beef and Cottage Cheese Bread I which is really dense and both recipes are from this site. I also used Thousand Island Dressing vs. Russian. This is much better than the corned beef/noodle recipes. I would first use the leftovers for a sandwich, then this recipe and the last resort would be a noodle recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Great substitute for the sandwich! Here are the changes I made thanks to other reviews . . . 1. I made half of the recipe since it was just me eating it - I used a 9X9 square glass pan and it was perfect! 2. The upside-down method worked really well - you spray the pan with cooking spray, add the meat, kraut, dressing, cheese, and THEN the bread. 3. The bread should be sprayed with cooking spray as well. I thought maybe tossing it with olive oil would have worked nicely too. Also, I roughly chopped up the meat to make it easier to scoop out of the pan later. 4. I used reduced-fat 1000 Island dressing and used a bit more than half since I like the flavor. 5. Season the bread with PEPPER and NO MORE salt!!! The corned beef and kraut are salty enough! 6. I baked for about 25 minutes uncovered and then served it with a crisp green vegetable :) ***Addendum*** I have now made this recipe many times! 1. Tossed quite a few cubes of bread in olive oil and just threw them on top of the casserole. The bread shrinks when it bakes so feel free to pile them on there. 2. I accidentally bought pastrami and it turned out just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
We love this and have made several times. I put the meat on the bottom, then sauerkraut, 1,000-island dressing, and top with bread cubes lightly tossed with melted butter. I bake for about 15 minutes until the bread gets crispy, then add grated swiss and bake until the cheese melts. I usually end by broiling the cheese for a minute or two. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I made this with the leftover corned beef from St Paddy's Day last Tuesday - good way to use those left-overs, after you have had them a couple nights already. Used the "Russian Style Creamy Dressing" from this site, and toasted the bread cubes before-hand. Made a layer of bread cubes, saurkraut, beef, dressing, and second layer of cubes. Added the cheese after the first 20 minutes of cooking. I love reuben sandwiches, but now I love this even better - don't have to worry about it falling apart when you try to eat it, and it seemed a little less fatty, since no butter/margarine was used to grill the sandwich. Thanks for another great addition to the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
We are huge reuben fans and this was not good at all. I would rather make the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I made this last night. My husband and I both enjoy reubens so thought it would be a good dish. My husband did not like it at all, the sourkraute was way to overpowering for him. Maybe if I had used only half the amount of the kraute it would have been better. Not sure if I'll ever try this again with a few tweeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
My husband loved this. I baked the crumbs first like I read in other ratings. It is a keeper. The only problem will be trying to find corn beef when it isn't in season. Thanks for the great and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I had to use pastrami because the store didn't have corned beef. I used more thousand island dressing then called for after reading other reviews,next time I am going to use the amount called for,because it would have been perfect. This is a quick and easy very good meal. I don't have alot of time to cook but its hard to find good fast dishes this is definitional one of them! My husband and I both liked it and I think with the amount of dressing called for we would have loved it! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States