Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
The whole family liked this! I scaled the serving size to 4 and made in a 9x 13 baking dish. I also made this upside-down, putting the corn beef on the bottom. I used the full can of kraut and an 8 oz bottle of low fat thousand island plus 1/2 lb of sliced Swiss cheese. I placed the slices (not cubes) of rye bread on top and sprayed with butter spray. I followed the cooking directions and the bread got nice and toasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This is a good recipe, and one which is easily tweaked to conform to your personal notion of what a Reuben should be. I tried it with the Russian dressing (Wishbone red) and that was good. I've always known a Reuben to have Thousand Islands, and I'll try that next time. Corned beef is not always readily available in the deli, and pastrami can make a good substitute. In a pinch, my guess is that cutting up hot dogs would work, and might help those who find that this recipe is expensive (I didn't think it was all that expensive). I did toast the bread cubes and drained and pressed the kraut (but did not rinse, that would be a mistake!). Next time I will use less cheese and dressing, and more kraut, to suit my tastes. I think it is too rich with all the cheese and dressing, but then this wasn't meant to be a health food recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This is really good! However, I still prefer to just make the sandwiches. And you can't beat homemade sauerkraut in this recipe if you can get your hands on some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Big hit! Going to be one of the Super Bowl dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Making a sandwich is far better than turning the whole thing into a pile of slop. Just make yourself a Reuben. I thought this would be really great, but it's actually only just this side of edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZeroCreature

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
It was dry and not cohesive. We added 1 c of water, used 1 1/2 c of thousand island instead, and mixed 1/2 the cheese into the casserole. We mixed all the ingredients, with the exception of 1 c of cheese and spread it into a greased cake pan. Then topped it with 1 c of cheese. Making the changes I'd give it a 4-star, but know that I've had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
My husband loves this recipe, thinks it ties for one of his all time favorites. I made it with the bread on the bottom one time, and I thought it tasted better. My husband preferred it without the bread on the bottom. So now we make a split plan to satisfy both of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WITTZEND1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This really does taste like a Reuben sandwich! I subbed in thousand island dressing for the Russian style. I did find myself missing having a sandwich though. It was odd to eat this "taste" with a fork instead of in your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
so good! I actually bought and made a corned beef (cheaper and better!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YVONNETOND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
try it with a cheese with horseraddish in it. It adds a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States