Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This was good and easy based on a few changes. I too toasted the bread (dark rye) in olive oil. I used Bavarian sweet sauerkraut,1000 Island Dressing and shredded swiss cheese. 3/4 lb of meat was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I love Reubens but, sometimes they're a pain to make. I like this recipe because it mimics the taste, if not the essence of a Reuben sandwich. I made this twice before posting my comments --- both times in an 11x7 casserole dish and scaling down the ingredients (e.g., 1/2 lb corned beef instead of 1 lb, etc.) TOAST YOUR BREAD! Otherwise, it will come out soggy. What I did was to cut up my bread and put it into the casserole dish, then put the dish into the oven while it was warming up. I drained, but did not rinse my sourkraut. I think that this give a bit more flavor to the dish. I used Thousand Island dressing (instead of Russian) both times. It still turned out great. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This was ok. Not something I'd make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
This is a great recipe! I take it to potlucks in March and everyone wants the recipe. I do have one problem. The bread really sticks to the bottom of the baking dish. Next time I will remember to grease the dish and hope tha helps. I also us 1000 Island Dressing instead of Russian Dressing which is difficult to find here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
What's not to like? I won't rinse the kraut next time because the bread cubes were a little dry. You can't really make a reuben 'healthy', but I tried to lighten it up a little by using about half of the corned beef called for in the recipe & tried lite dressing. Still really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, THIS RECIPE. This is one of our favorite dinners. Have made this several times. I usually buy a loaf of soft rye, cut 1/2 into cubes, lightly toast them with a drizzle of olive oil, then put cubes under broiler. I add about a bottle of Ken's Russian. Tried Thousand Island dressing, but I think Russian tastes so much better. Also, if you can find shredded swiss it works better than the slices. I cover the dish with the non stick aluminum foil. Saves the headache of having your cheese stick to the foil. I like to serve this with the Taste of Home's Creamy Coleslaw recipe also found on Allrecipes. Superb!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was an interesting recipe to try, and we will have it again. It was a bit salty though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I made this one for my family the other day and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erik

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This was tasty but very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
very good. tastes just like the sandwich. next time will toast bread. a little too soggy. but still enjoyed it. thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States