Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
We love this and have made several times. I put the meat on the bottom, then sauerkraut, 1,000-island dressing, and top with bread cubes lightly tossed with melted butter. I bake for about 15 minutes until the bread gets crispy, then add grated swiss and bake until the cheese melts. I usually end by broiling the cheese for a minute or two. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I made this with the leftover corned beef from St Paddy's Day last Tuesday - good way to use those left-overs, after you have had them a couple nights already. Used the "Russian Style Creamy Dressing" from this site, and toasted the bread cubes before-hand. Made a layer of bread cubes, saurkraut, beef, dressing, and second layer of cubes. Added the cheese after the first 20 minutes of cooking. I love reuben sandwiches, but now I love this even better - don't have to worry about it falling apart when you try to eat it, and it seemed a little less fatty, since no butter/margarine was used to grill the sandwich. Thanks for another great addition to the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
We are huge reuben fans and this was not good at all. I would rather make the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I made this last night. My husband and I both enjoy reubens so thought it would be a good dish. My husband did not like it at all, the sourkraute was way to overpowering for him. Maybe if I had used only half the amount of the kraute it would have been better. Not sure if I'll ever try this again with a few tweeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
My husband loved this. I baked the crumbs first like I read in other ratings. It is a keeper. The only problem will be trying to find corn beef when it isn't in season. Thanks for the great and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I had to use pastrami because the store didn't have corned beef. I used more thousand island dressing then called for after reading other reviews,next time I am going to use the amount called for,because it would have been perfect. This is a quick and easy very good meal. I don't have alot of time to cook but its hard to find good fast dishes this is definitional one of them! My husband and I both liked it and I think with the amount of dressing called for we would have loved it! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
We loved this. I agree with some of the suggested changes of putting the bread on top!! Its definitely going into our regular meal plans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wooster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Hubby liked this, but I didn't care much for it, and our 2-year-old just picked at it. Perhaps if I were more a fan of the Reuben sandwich, I would have found this casserole more appealing. But I found it greasy and too tart, and I followed the recipe to a T. Maybe better with a different type of dressing? Probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
My entire family was disappointed. My son summed it up: "We should have just had the sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
what a great way to use up corned beef and make it equal for all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States