Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
My mom had a can (12 oz) of corned beef, a 16-oz can of Bavarian kraut, and 6 thick slices of bakery rye bread to use up, so I used that the first time I made it. It was very good, but it's even better with real deli corned beef. I use a couple more slices of the regular thin rye. It makes great leftovers to heat in the microwave. You can serve thousand island dressing on the table for those who like more (I don't, personally, but have family members who do).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MountainGrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
a HUGE hit at home!! Definitely will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weaverville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This seemed even better the next day, but it was exactly what I was looking for. Satisfied my reuben craving. Followed other reviewers advice and... Sprayed casserole dish with "pam," spread the corned beef first then layer with the sauerkraut and salad dressing mixture, then swiss cheese. Top it with bread, that has either been buttered or sprayed with "pam." When the rye bread topping is toasted, the casserole is done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
When I made this casserole, I made a homemade russian salad dressing (a recipe and a half), then I layered the corned beef, sauerkraut and cheese with s little of the salad dressing in between each layer. I used homemade rye bread crumbs on the top and drizzled butter over the crumbs. The whole family loved it! I'm going to make this again really soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
The whole family liked this! I scaled the serving size to 4 and made in a 9x 13 baking dish. I also made this upside-down, putting the corn beef on the bottom. I used the full can of kraut and an 8 oz bottle of low fat thousand island plus 1/2 lb of sliced Swiss cheese. I placed the slices (not cubes) of rye bread on top and sprayed with butter spray. I followed the cooking directions and the bread got nice and toasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This is a good recipe, and one which is easily tweaked to conform to your personal notion of what a Reuben should be. I tried it with the Russian dressing (Wishbone red) and that was good. I've always known a Reuben to have Thousand Islands, and I'll try that next time. Corned beef is not always readily available in the deli, and pastrami can make a good substitute. In a pinch, my guess is that cutting up hot dogs would work, and might help those who find that this recipe is expensive (I didn't think it was all that expensive). I did toast the bread cubes and drained and pressed the kraut (but did not rinse, that would be a mistake!). Next time I will use less cheese and dressing, and more kraut, to suit my tastes. I think it is too rich with all the cheese and dressing, but then this wasn't meant to be a health food recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This is really good! However, I still prefer to just make the sandwiches. And you can't beat homemade sauerkraut in this recipe if you can get your hands on some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Big hit! Going to be one of the Super Bowl dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Making a sandwich is far better than turning the whole thing into a pile of slop. Just make yourself a Reuben. I thought this would be really great, but it's actually only just this side of edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZeroCreature

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
It was dry and not cohesive. We added 1 c of water, used 1 1/2 c of thousand island instead, and mixed 1/2 the cheese into the casserole. We mixed all the ingredients, with the exception of 1 c of cheese and spread it into a greased cake pan. Then topped it with 1 c of cheese. Making the changes I'd give it a 4-star, but know that I've had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States