Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
With a little bit of variation, this turned out to be a really good dish! I layered the saurkraut, corned beef and Thousand Island dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Martin Meirs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Check, Virginia, USA
Living In: New Kent, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
This receipe was really good, and quick, it tasted just like a Rueben Sandwich, so if you like Rueben Sandwiches, you must try this one. First, I would like to agree with the other reviewers that this recipe is EXPENSIVE. I paid $10.15 just for the corned beef. Total cost of meal was approximately $30.00. I initially purchased a corned beef brisket and begin cooking it until I read the recipe and it called for corned beef deli meat. And just a side note, the corned beef brisket takes FOREVER to cook, and I don’t think it would work as well as the deli meat. I listened to the other reviewer’s suggestions about the soggy bread, and decided to make a few changes. I spread the bread with butter and toasted in the oven, which made it extremely hard. I also layered the casserole in the following matter: The toasted rye, corned beef, sauerkraut, thousand island dressing, Swiss cheese, and repeated the layering, and placed crumbled rye/pumpernickel bread on top of the casserole, sprinkle with no-salt butter. I also used canned sauerkraut. I drained it really good, and even squeezed the sauerkraut by hand to squeeze the access water outof it. When I baked the casserole, the bread remained crispy throughout the entire casserole. The only change I would make is to spray the bread with oil spray and not use actual butter, because the casserole was kind of greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
Really good! And quick and easy to prepare. If you like Reuben sandwiches, you've got to try this. I did use the fresh, bagged sauerkraut rather than canned, though. And also leftover corned beef rather than deli corned beef. I'm sure it would be good with the deli corned beef, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
WOW! This is one of the best things I ever made! Like others suggested, I toasted the bread first. I put four cubed slices on the bottom of a small oval casserole dish. I layered it with thin slices of deli corned beef, a mixture of saurkraut (sp?) and Russian dressing, slices of Swiss cheese, and then repeated all the layers again. I used an 8oz. bottle of dressing and a 14 oz. can of saurkraut. I then followed the cooking time and temperature. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, New York, USA
Living In: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
We used pastrami (no leftover corned beef) and followed other reviews in toasting the bread. Will layer some bread on the bottom and some on the top the next time. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
I followed the advice of another reviewer and put the bread crumbs on top. It was delicious that first night when it came out of the oven! I used hot Mr. Mustard as a side-sauce. However, this was way too expensive. The meat alone costs $7.50!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasglori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
Everybody LOVED this recipe, except my 2 year old, but I"m sure most young kids don't like sauerkraut. I toasted the bread first, and did two layers in a 2 qt casserole dish, including the cheese and baking about 1/2 hour. My husband added horseradish to his. We will definitely have this again when corned beef goes on sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
What a great way to use leftovers! I did as another reviewer suggested, and layered this upside down. I will make this again. Thanks Monica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
I had great luck with this recipe. Combining some other cooks suggestions and a couple of my own, here is how I prepared it. I put the bread cubes in an 11x7 pan and put the pan in a cold oven and while it heated to 400 it allowed the bread to toast a bit.(I stirred the cubes half way through the heating) I used left-over corned beef that I cubed and sprinkled over the bread, then I mixed one cup of dressing with the sauerkraut(well drained is important) and spread over the corned beef. Finished off per recipe. My family loved it. A keeper in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
I thought my husband would love this but he just rated it as a 4 - I would have given it a 5 as I don't like sauerkraut and I liked this. Next time I would make it as a lunch dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States