Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
Everybody LOVED this recipe, except my 2 year old, but I"m sure most young kids don't like sauerkraut. I toasted the bread first, and did two layers in a 2 qt casserole dish, including the cheese and baking about 1/2 hour. My husband added horseradish to his. We will definitely have this again when corned beef goes on sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
What a great way to use leftovers! I did as another reviewer suggested, and layered this upside down. I will make this again. Thanks Monica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
I had great luck with this recipe. Combining some other cooks suggestions and a couple of my own, here is how I prepared it. I put the bread cubes in an 11x7 pan and put the pan in a cold oven and while it heated to 400 it allowed the bread to toast a bit.(I stirred the cubes half way through the heating) I used left-over corned beef that I cubed and sprinkled over the bread, then I mixed one cup of dressing with the sauerkraut(well drained is important) and spread over the corned beef. Finished off per recipe. My family loved it. A keeper in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
I thought my husband would love this but he just rated it as a 4 - I would have given it a 5 as I don't like sauerkraut and I liked this. Next time I would make it as a lunch dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
I did not like this dish very much and neither did my husband. He just ate the corned beef and pushed aside the mushy bread. The taste of the Rye bread is very overwelming, maybe better with sourdough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDY88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
I made this for a potluck. I used my 6 qt. oval crockpot and it came out great. Everyone said that it was the best hotdish. I toasted the bread first and then added the other ingredients. I did use thousand island dressing instead of the russian and used more dressing than was stated. Also put the cheese in with the other ingredients and turned the crockpot on low. It was ready in a couple of hours. Thanks for this wonderful, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
This recipe is WONDERFUL! It had great flavor and it was so easy to make. I cut the Rye bread into larger chunks so they really had a nice chewy/crunchy texture. I also added extra 1000 island dressing, but cut the sauerkraut in half. Definitely a keeper! Thank you so much for a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
I thought this recipe was good, but not as good as I expected. Taking the advice of other reviewers, I also used Thousand Island dressing and added extra. I added a layer of toasted Rye Bread cubes on the top too, and then sprinkled the cheese on. This worked great, as the top layer was nice and crunchy. Next time, I would eliminate the bottom layer altogether. Even with toasted bread, the bottom was just too soggy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
I liked it very much, but I think the idea of toasting the bread would make it better. I used low fat cheese, and lean corned beef - and it tasted just fine. I also added mushrooms and green onion - it added some filler and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
Absolutely fantastic! This is my first review of a recipe, even though I use so many from this site. My hubby who "hates casseroles" loved this one. I used leftover corned beef and I can't wait to make it again! I toasted the rye bread cubes first, and then followed the recipe as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States