Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
I did not like this dish very much and neither did my husband. He just ate the corned beef and pushed aside the mushy bread. The taste of the Rye bread is very overwelming, maybe better with sourdough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDY88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
I made this for a potluck. I used my 6 qt. oval crockpot and it came out great. Everyone said that it was the best hotdish. I toasted the bread first and then added the other ingredients. I did use thousand island dressing instead of the russian and used more dressing than was stated. Also put the cheese in with the other ingredients and turned the crockpot on low. It was ready in a couple of hours. Thanks for this wonderful, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
This recipe is WONDERFUL! It had great flavor and it was so easy to make. I cut the Rye bread into larger chunks so they really had a nice chewy/crunchy texture. I also added extra 1000 island dressing, but cut the sauerkraut in half. Definitely a keeper! Thank you so much for a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
I thought this recipe was good, but not as good as I expected. Taking the advice of other reviewers, I also used Thousand Island dressing and added extra. I added a layer of toasted Rye Bread cubes on the top too, and then sprinkled the cheese on. This worked great, as the top layer was nice and crunchy. Next time, I would eliminate the bottom layer altogether. Even with toasted bread, the bottom was just too soggy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
I liked it very much, but I think the idea of toasting the bread would make it better. I used low fat cheese, and lean corned beef - and it tasted just fine. I also added mushrooms and green onion - it added some filler and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
Absolutely fantastic! This is my first review of a recipe, even though I use so many from this site. My hubby who "hates casseroles" loved this one. I used leftover corned beef and I can't wait to make it again! I toasted the rye bread cubes first, and then followed the recipe as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
I love this recipe, but I turn it upside down. I spray the casserole dish with "pam," and then spread the corned beef first(i've even used worthington's vegetarian corned beef.) then, i layer with the sauerkraut and salad dressing mixture. top that with plenty of swiss cheese. then top it with cubed rye bread, that has either been buttered, or sprayed with "pam." when the rye bread topping is toasted, the casserole is done. great solution for those who did not like the soggy bread at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
416 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZMIKCOWGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
This one, according to my husband...ROCKED! Essentially, it's like the sandwich, only layered and baked. One change I made since I was making it for people I didn't know very well, was instead of rye bread, I purchased at my local grocer an "Asiago Cheese Loaf" I think any firm bread would be great, but the cheese bread, along with the other ingredients, were a perfect match. Husband, says,"Put this one into the rotation" High praise indeed! :) Also, it was so rich, that I think that next time I can substitute Low Cal 1000 Island, and I know he won't notice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This was excellent. My husband and I both loved it. The only thing I might do different the next time is add more thousand island dressing. I think I would double the amount. This recipe is so easy and much less messy than traditional Reuben sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Wow, I hate saurkraut and loved this recipe! I made it for my husband because he loves ruebens. I ended up having a second helping! Even the kiddos liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States