Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
Even my dh who hates saurkraut liked this dish. I toasted my bread beforehand as suggested by previous raters and it wasn't mushy at all. I finished off the leftovers the next day and they were just as good as the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
We LOVE reubens but I must have done something wrong with this recipe. Maybe my bread wasn't really good NY rye...it's hard to get here in Tennesse! I wouldn't toast it again if I made this again. I think I also overdid the 1000 island dressing and it was too much. My husband ate it and said it was ok, even took it to work the next day, but it isn't my favorite recipe this time around. Sorry. We are trying the chicken reuben tonight...I'll have to rate that one after we try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerport, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
I did a family taste test & layed half according to the recipe, although I used thousand island dressing & didn't spray the aluminum foil with Pam. The other half, I made with reviewer suggestions by spraying the pan with Pam 1st & then layering it with corned beef, sauerkraut, thousand island dressing, Swiss cheese & lightly toasted rye bread cubes on top (still with the aluminum foil on top). They were both good but the preference was for the one with the bread cubes on top. As my family doesn't like corned beef as much as I do, I'm going to try it as a turkey reuben casserole next. I think this would be a good recipe for leftover Thanksgiving turkey too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
My boyfriend can't cook at all. I was looking for a simple recipe that he could make, but that would still produce an outcome that would be proud of. This was FANTASTIC. I love Reubens. I can't wait to have this again. This has officially become one of "his" recipes. Update... My boyfriend has made this recipe 2x since my original review, and it is still great. We use 1000 island as the dressing. One reviewer said that pasta made it dry. What pasta?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
So easy, quick and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGGIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
Great casserole! It really tasted alot like a reuben sandwich. I substituted Pumpernickel, that I put on the top of my casserole so the bread wouldnt be mushy, then sprinkled some shredded mozzarella on top. I cubed some swiss cheese with the meat, sauerkraut and dressing and mixed it together rather than layering. I like an even mixture and this turned out great. I used about a half bottle of 1000 island dressing too. Thanks for the great recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
Incredibally easy and satisfying dish! This is a "keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
With a little bit of variation, this turned out to be a really good dish! I layered the saurkraut, corned beef and Thousand Island dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Martin Meirs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Check, Virginia, USA
Living In: New Kent, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
This receipe was really good, and quick, it tasted just like a Rueben Sandwich, so if you like Rueben Sandwiches, you must try this one. First, I would like to agree with the other reviewers that this recipe is EXPENSIVE. I paid $10.15 just for the corned beef. Total cost of meal was approximately $30.00. I initially purchased a corned beef brisket and begin cooking it until I read the recipe and it called for corned beef deli meat. And just a side note, the corned beef brisket takes FOREVER to cook, and I don’t think it would work as well as the deli meat. I listened to the other reviewer’s suggestions about the soggy bread, and decided to make a few changes. I spread the bread with butter and toasted in the oven, which made it extremely hard. I also layered the casserole in the following matter: The toasted rye, corned beef, sauerkraut, thousand island dressing, Swiss cheese, and repeated the layering, and placed crumbled rye/pumpernickel bread on top of the casserole, sprinkle with no-salt butter. I also used canned sauerkraut. I drained it really good, and even squeezed the sauerkraut by hand to squeeze the access water outof it. When I baked the casserole, the bread remained crispy throughout the entire casserole. The only change I would make is to spray the bread with oil spray and not use actual butter, because the casserole was kind of greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
Really good! And quick and easy to prepare. If you like Reuben sandwiches, you've got to try this. I did use the fresh, bagged sauerkraut rather than canned, though. And also leftover corned beef rather than deli corned beef. I'm sure it would be good with the deli corned beef, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States