Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
I followed other rater's advice of putting the bread cubes on the top, then adding the cheese at the end as directed in the recipe. My dh loved it, my kids weren't as thrilled. I liked it and reuben is not one of my favorites. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
My husband went crazy over this. He loves Reuben sandwiches, so this was a real treat for him to come home to.I couldn't find a russian style salad dressing so I used a honey mustard dressing and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
use seedless rye bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
Even my dh who hates saurkraut liked this dish. I toasted my bread beforehand as suggested by previous raters and it wasn't mushy at all. I finished off the leftovers the next day and they were just as good as the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
We LOVE reubens but I must have done something wrong with this recipe. Maybe my bread wasn't really good NY rye...it's hard to get here in Tennesse! I wouldn't toast it again if I made this again. I think I also overdid the 1000 island dressing and it was too much. My husband ate it and said it was ok, even took it to work the next day, but it isn't my favorite recipe this time around. Sorry. We are trying the chicken reuben tonight...I'll have to rate that one after we try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerport, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
I did a family taste test & layed half according to the recipe, although I used thousand island dressing & didn't spray the aluminum foil with Pam. The other half, I made with reviewer suggestions by spraying the pan with Pam 1st & then layering it with corned beef, sauerkraut, thousand island dressing, Swiss cheese & lightly toasted rye bread cubes on top (still with the aluminum foil on top). They were both good but the preference was for the one with the bread cubes on top. As my family doesn't like corned beef as much as I do, I'm going to try it as a turkey reuben casserole next. I think this would be a good recipe for leftover Thanksgiving turkey too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
My boyfriend can't cook at all. I was looking for a simple recipe that he could make, but that would still produce an outcome that would be proud of. This was FANTASTIC. I love Reubens. I can't wait to have this again. This has officially become one of "his" recipes. Update... My boyfriend has made this recipe 2x since my original review, and it is still great. We use 1000 island as the dressing. One reviewer said that pasta made it dry. What pasta?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
So easy, quick and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGGIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
Great casserole! It really tasted alot like a reuben sandwich. I substituted Pumpernickel, that I put on the top of my casserole so the bread wouldnt be mushy, then sprinkled some shredded mozzarella on top. I cubed some swiss cheese with the meat, sauerkraut and dressing and mixed it together rather than layering. I like an even mixture and this turned out great. I used about a half bottle of 1000 island dressing too. Thanks for the great recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
Incredibally easy and satisfying dish! This is a "keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States