Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
This is a keeper! All you need to do to prevent this dish from becoming soggy is to thoroughly rinse and DRAIN the sauerkraut. I use a wire mesh colander and place it over a bowl for the kraut to drain while I fix the remaining ingredients. I also layer in this order: bread, meat, kraut, dressing, cheese. It's perfect! (I also like to use unsliced rye bread when I can find it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
This recipe was ok. I followed the advice of other reviewers and layered the toasted rye bread on top (just under the cheese). It was flavorful, but quite dry. I served extra thousand island dressing on the side. I had 3 adults and 5 children for dinner. The adults thought it was ok, but none of the kids (5 to 1 year old) would really touch anything but the corned beef. I will probably try it again although I would only put sauerkraut in half the dish (for adults) and add more corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
This was very good!! I used real corn beef and more dressing and ut turned out great. Next time would use a little more bread. This will be a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
We thought this receipe was great!! I used 1000 Island dressing instead of the Russian. It was great as a left over too! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
Great and easy recipe! A crowd pleaser. Everyone loved it (I should have doubled it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
This recipe was ok, but not great. The pasta made it dry, even though I added the juice from the saurkraut as extra. I may try it again with some changes, because my hubby sort of liked it. I think it has potential with a few changes, mostly the moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Watkins Glen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
very yummy and easy to make. My hubby and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
OK, but we would rather have an actual Reuben sandwich, as long it we have all the ingredients anyway. Also prefer Thousand Island to Russian dressing for Reuben stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
I followed other rater's advice of putting the bread cubes on the top, then adding the cheese at the end as directed in the recipe. My dh loved it, my kids weren't as thrilled. I liked it and reuben is not one of my favorites. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
My husband went crazy over this. He loves Reuben sandwiches, so this was a real treat for him to come home to.I couldn't find a russian style salad dressing so I used a honey mustard dressing and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States