Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
EXCELLENT!!! I LOVED this recipe and so did my family! I will most definitely be making this again. (I layered bread, meat, kraut, dressing, cheese and used Kraft 1000 Island.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
This recipe is wonderful - - - - and oh so easy!! I used a sweet bavarian sauerkraut (in a jar), and about 12 oz. of sliced baby swiss cheese, as I couldn't find shredded in my grocery store. It was so good!!!!! I was hesitant to make this at first, but I am so glad that I did it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie Turnage Kibler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
Thank you Monica! My husband and I thought this was very good. I forgot to check the reviews before I made it, but I used Thousand Island dressing anyway! And I must have drained the saurkraut enough because it definitely was not soggy. All in all, I must say, it was quite tasty! I think the heat has a way of blending of the tastes together. You gave life to an old sandwich! I will definitely make this again, my husband (who is the primary cooker of the family) REALLY enjoyed this. My daughter, who will be 5, didn't have as much enthusiasm, though. She picked on the corned beef before I made the casserole. After reading the reviews, I'm thinking this is not a "kiddie" kind of meal, maybe if I use hotdogs...hmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
One of my husband’s favorites… he requests it all the time! My only adjustment is to use Thousand Island dressing versus the Russian. Thanks, Monica, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
We really like this recipe! Quick and easy and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
Keeper! In response to another review, I had my boyfriend rinse the sour kraut before I got home so it would have time to dry. However, he may have rinsed it out too much because we missed the sour in the kraut which ended up making the corned beef quite dominating. Reviews indicated that alot of people chose 1000 Island over Russian, so I split an inmaginary line down the middle of my pan in order see for ourselves. We both agreed that the best part was the part that had both dressings on it. I toasted the bread first w/PAM in the preheating oven to prevent sogginess, but when I layered the casserole, I didn't quite cover a bit of the bread around the edges which left me with a couple of bites that were hard as a rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUMMALUVN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
This is a keeper! All you need to do to prevent this dish from becoming soggy is to thoroughly rinse and DRAIN the sauerkraut. I use a wire mesh colander and place it over a bowl for the kraut to drain while I fix the remaining ingredients. I also layer in this order: bread, meat, kraut, dressing, cheese. It's perfect! (I also like to use unsliced rye bread when I can find it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
This recipe was ok. I followed the advice of other reviewers and layered the toasted rye bread on top (just under the cheese). It was flavorful, but quite dry. I served extra thousand island dressing on the side. I had 3 adults and 5 children for dinner. The adults thought it was ok, but none of the kids (5 to 1 year old) would really touch anything but the corned beef. I will probably try it again although I would only put sauerkraut in half the dish (for adults) and add more corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
This was very good!! I used real corn beef and more dressing and ut turned out great. Next time would use a little more bread. This will be a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
We thought this receipe was great!! I used 1000 Island dressing instead of the Russian. It was great as a left over too! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States