Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I love Reubens but, sometimes they're a pain to make. I like this recipe because it mimics the taste, if not the essence of a Reuben sandwich. I made this twice before posting my comments --- both times in an 11x7 casserole dish and scaling down the ingredients (e.g., 1/2 lb corned beef instead of 1 lb, etc.) TOAST YOUR BREAD! Otherwise, it will come out soggy. What I did was to cut up my bread and put it into the casserole dish, then put the dish into the oven while it was warming up. I drained, but did not rinse my sourkraut. I think that this give a bit more flavor to the dish. I used Thousand Island dressing (instead of Russian) both times. It still turned out great. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This was ok. Not something I'd make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
This is a great recipe! I take it to potlucks in March and everyone wants the recipe. I do have one problem. The bread really sticks to the bottom of the baking dish. Next time I will remember to grease the dish and hope tha helps. I also us 1000 Island Dressing instead of Russian Dressing which is difficult to find here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
What's not to like? I won't rinse the kraut next time because the bread cubes were a little dry. You can't really make a reuben 'healthy', but I tried to lighten it up a little by using about half of the corned beef called for in the recipe & tried lite dressing. Still really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, THIS RECIPE. This is one of our favorite dinners. Have made this several times. I usually buy a loaf of soft rye, cut 1/2 into cubes, lightly toast them with a drizzle of olive oil, then put cubes under broiler. I add about a bottle of Ken's Russian. Tried Thousand Island dressing, but I think Russian tastes so much better. Also, if you can find shredded swiss it works better than the slices. I cover the dish with the non stick aluminum foil. Saves the headache of having your cheese stick to the foil. I like to serve this with the Taste of Home's Creamy Coleslaw recipe also found on Allrecipes. Superb!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was an interesting recipe to try, and we will have it again. It was a bit salty though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I made this one for my family the other day and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erik

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This was tasty but very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
very good. tastes just like the sandwich. next time will toast bread. a little too soggy. but still enjoyed it. thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
If there was any way to give this 0 stars I would. There is no way to improve on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbroy92

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Telford, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States