Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
We really liked this one! I made it upside down and added more thousand island. This will be a regular for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Not a big hit in my house- same ingredients as a rueben, might as well just make them as a sandwich...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I enjoyed this but next time would make a couple changes. First I would chop up the corned beef so it was easier to serve. Then I would not rinse the sauerkraut since I like that flavor. I did rinse it here and it was too bland for my taste. But I LOVE reubans so would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This was great. I toasted the bread before cubing as I can't stand soggy bread, used leftover corn beef, and 1000 island dressing. I also used the renolds release foil so I didn't have to spray anything. Anyhow- it was great. Hubby told me three times how much he liked it. That is a big deal for him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This was SOooooo good! I have wanted to make a Reuben Casserole for years. I read quite a few reviews and modified very little. I had a large chunk of roast leftover so I upped the quantities. I used 1# of bread, laid the slices out on a cookie sheet and put in the 400 oven for about 3 or so minutes until toasted. Meanwhile I put a 32oz. jar of sauerkraut, drained but not rinsed, into the 9x13" casserole. Hub did find Russian dressing (Wishbone at a Safeway) and poured the whole 16oz. bottle on the sauerkraut, mixed it up and spread it out. Put the shredded corned beef over that then topped it with 2c. shredded Swiss. Broke the toasted bread into pieces and spread them over the top. It was fantastic, so easy and tasty BUT it was not very attractive with the bread on top so next time I'll take another 1-2c. shredded Swiss and put it on top. Also, since the bread is on top, I might try to cut a step and try baking it before the bread layer for 15 min. then toasting torn up pieces at that point on top with the final cheese and bake for another 10 min. (always looking for the easiest way). I baked it all uncovered with great results. Thank you, it was worth the wait!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
My husband loves Reuben Sandwiches ... this is a great alternative and a good way to use that leftover corned beef. There are only two of us so next time I'll make half a recipe. I toasted the bread first as others suggested ... good choice. It would be helpful to have a measurement for the amount of bread instead of number of slices since bread varies in size. I used 5 large slices of dark rye bread and it was way too much bread for the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I love Reuben sandwiches, and this recipe was great. I like my sandwiches with a lot of thousand island dressing so I used quite a bit more than called for and I also put it under the broil just until the cheese started to brown. Tasted great, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HENSOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Griffith, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
My family, especially my husband, loved this casserole! It had just the right ruben flavor. I changed the recipe a little by putting bread cubes on top and bottom of the casserole, but next time I would only put them on top. There seemed to be too much bread with both. Other than that, this recipe was a smashing hit. My husband requested it at least once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Onaway, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This is a treat and it got raves from my husband. I had about half a loaf of the small cocktail size pumpernickel rye left over from another use. I used that and layered all in a rectangular 3 qt. casserole dish lined with the non-stick foil. I broke the bread squares in half. Bread, beef, cheese, sauerkraut, dressing, repeat, and then end with a little more bread. I used a scant cup of thousand island dressing, about 10 oz. of sliced cheese cut in strips, and about 1/2 lb. of beef. I also put a little melted butter on the bread layers. I didn't use the full 16 oz. of sauerkraut but I think it would have been as good if I had gone ahead and used it all. Cooked covered with a glass lid for 30 minutes and then uncovered and added final layer of cheese and cooked 10 more minutes. This is a perfect recipe for taking the ingredients and "eyeballing" it to your own satisfaction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I followed the recipe EXACTLY and got rave reviews from my entire family, including my uber-picky father-in-law who is never happy with anything - including restaurant food. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States