Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This was amazing! I followed the recipe exactly and will never deviate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Kate the Great

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I loved this soup!! I made it with fat free cream and thinned it down with a bit of milk as I like "brothy" soups. I read alot of the previous reviews and took those into account before I made my soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Yum. We make this often. I always use low-sodium canned chicken broth. I also fresh spinach as we do not have access to fresh kale. I use smoked turkey sausages in this usually and dice it up with the skins left on. Now I don't have to go to OG to get this. Taste just like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Good soup. I used sweet Italian sausage for this and did not have any heavy cream so I used about half tablespoon of butter when cooking the onion and bacon then added a can of evaporated milk at the end, to replace the cream. I also added black pepper, white pepper, and a bit of oregano. The thing that made this soup a warm spicy treat that spreads warmth through your body but doesn't burn your mouth was some nice Hungarian paprika, get the good stuff and it will give this soup a wonderful mellow savory heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2bmary

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This is my favorite soup - oh, sorry, zuppa! Thanks for this amazingly tasty addition to my regular meal planning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
very close to restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misscarlamom2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Amazingly good!!! I changed it to 6 cups of water, and a half cup of cream. SOOOO GOOOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Followed the recipe, BUT using low-fat ingredients. I used turkey bacon, turkey sausage crumbles, half-and-half. Seriously, it is just as good. We had this the other night at a friend's house, and you can't really tell the difference in the one that I made tonight. Absolutely loved it and we can now have it more often since we can make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Great recipe, both my hubby and I marked it as a keeper. I used hot italian sausage crumbled and browned on the stove, 2 T. sodium free chicken soup base with 6 cups of water, 8 small red potatoes - chunked w/ the skin on, baby spinach, and double the cream. I thought I had drained the sausage well, but not well enough, the soup was kind of greasy, next time I will probably rinse with hot water as well. I am going to cook the onion and garlic in the bacon fat, but leave the bacon out of the soup, since it was soggy and didn't add to the overall flavor. I also thought it was very thin, so next time I plan on thickening with a roux and using evaporated milk instead of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
The teenager & I liked it, hubby LOVED it! I used Jenni-o Italian turkey sausage instead of the smoked sausage. The 3 of us ate the whole thing, no leftovers. I wanted to try it tomorrow since others said it was better the next day. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARKANDDEEA

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 81-90 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States