Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I fixed it according to directions. I found it to be sort of bland. It was easy to doctor though. I added salt to taste, Italian seasoning, diced tomatoes and cannellini beans. Then let it simmer in the crock pot most of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Stivers Boyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Golden, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This just might be my favorite soup ever! I often make it with low-sodium chicken broth instead of the base, and simply add milk instead of the cream, but this recipe is so good you wouldn't know the difference! It took a little tweaking to get it just how it is in the restaurant, but when I asked a waitress, she gave me a juicy tip: add some flavorful dry wine to the soup to give it that extra umph. If you have any doubts about this recipe at all- don't, just make sure you cook all the "bitter" out of your kale and you're good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChinnyChinChin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
We used smoked sausage similar looking to Keilbasa... I think that's not what the recipe calls for, but the kids liked it. I might try it with Italian sausage later. Also, I didn't have chicken soup base, so I just added the amounts of water and chicken base that it called for and did half chicken broth and half water. I think it gave it much more flavor. We didn't add any salt until the very end (and added a little bit of the bacon grease). I cooked the bacon on a cookie sheet lined with aluminum foil in the oven... it gets crispier that way... and cooked the onions (used red onions) with a bit of olive oil on the stove with the garlic, just a low simmer to tender them b/4 adding them to the soup. We had also made homemade artisan bread and had it to dip in the broth, it went together fabulously!! Wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This soup is delicious! We've had it twice in the last couple months
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Made the soup today and it was great. Fried the bacon first and then use about tbsp of the bacon fat to fried the onion. Followed another reviewer's suggestion and add a tbsp of half & half cream to each bowl before ladeling in the soup (vs adding it to the soup) as not everyone was eating at the same time. Also add more chicken broth near the end as a lot of the liquid evaporated during the simmering (could be due to the high heat). The family loved it. I did find it a bit salty so will probably add more water instead of chicken broth next time. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Really great recipe. I adapted slightly as we are vegetarian. Use vegetable broth, no bacon and use lightly sauteed tofurky kielbasa sausage. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Mmmmm. Had lots of kale from our summer CSA to use up and this was a hit. The kale shrinks quite a bit so it's a great way to use it, but do tear small so that it's not such a mess to get into your mouth. Big hit with my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
great! I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This is my favorite OG soup and now to have it at home is great! I made a huge batch and used canned chicken broth (5 cans), 2 bunches of kale no stems, and left over turkey bacon. Now to see if the the picky eaters will enjoy it, I sampled it and yummm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States