Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This soup is great! I also added 1.5 qrts of water (instead of 1), 1 pound of "spicy Italian ground sausage" (instead of smoked sausage), + 2 zucchinis, spinach (instead of kale), + 1 cup of mushrooms. Really great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rapsedy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This was a winner! I had a friend give me a couple bunches of kale and I didn't know a thing about what one does with it. Now I know. One makes Zuppa Toscana for a meal with friends and basks in the glow of their praises for the evening. I did not have the sausage called for so I uses polish sausage and it was wonderful. I didn't measure the kale, just doubled the entire recipe for enough liquid to cook all my kale. I also shredded my potatoes in a thick hashbrown/like cut beause I have a Salad master machine that does that for me in a jiffy and I didn't even have to peel the potatoes. I used 4-5 fresh garlic cloves instead of the powder....I think that's all the modifying I did. A keeper for sure....and I love the name.....makes me feel like I'm morphing into a bonified "foodie". ;D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas City, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I made this with ground turkey sausage because it is what I had on hand (for my typical sausage and kale dinner) I wouldn't change a thing, this recipe was flavorful and rich but not heavy at all. Everyone loved it, even my daughter who doesn't like kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by volvomom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I loved this soup. I followed exactly, except sub homemade chicken broth for soup base and water. I have so much Kale in the garden this will be a staple during cooler times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ursula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Excellent! I did find that like several people mentioned that you should cook the bacon seperately. I also used more cale and potatoes than the recipe called for. I also didnt know to take the casing off of the sausage (will do that next time) It was kind of a lot of work but very much worth the end result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
DELICIOUS!!! My husband and my mother called to tell me how good it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I made a big pot of this soup the other night & it turned out great! I added fresh mushrooms & used baby red potatoes to add additional color to the green kale. Served it with crusty french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
tasty and hearty. I felt the meat to veggie ratio was way too heavy, though, so I tripled the portion of kale. I also used Italian sausage (removed the casing) instead of smoked sausage As others suggested, I cooked bacon separately from onions (I cooked onions in the bacon grease)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Amazing. Never had the soup in the popular resturant. I baked the bacon (that's the way I prefer to make bacon) and sauteed the onion with the sausage. (I used ground pork sausage rather than the links. I used chard, thought I had kale. Thought it tasted fine with the chard, but have only tried this once. Definetly going to make this one a lot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States