Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Yum! I was at a loss for what to do with kale. This recipe is very tasty and kid friendly too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I made it today and burned my onions because I put them in with the bacon like the recipe said, next time I think I will cook them separate. Still delicious though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This is a great recipe. The soup is requested at least once a month. As soon as friends and family hear it is on the stove I have a house full. I use hot italin sausage for a little kick and I cut ip raw and cook it in the soup pot to keep more of the flavor. I cook the bacon seperate til it's a little crispy because it will soften in the soup. I also use 2 qts low sodium chicken stock insted of water but, still using the chicken base. I found using boullion maes it salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I enjoyed this recipe... And, I chose to make a PALEO version. No need to reduce fat for paleo... ;) I cooked the bacon first, and then cooked the onion in the rendered fat. Instead of cream, I used coconut milk, and instead of potatoes, I used sweet potatoes! I also doubled the Kale... packed 4 cups! Touch of red pepper flakes, and some Trocomare ... YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I prefer using Italian sausage in place of both meats in the recipe. I cook and brown the Italian sausage. Remove to drain most of the fat. Then cook onions and garlic per recipe. If needed I add a bit of olive oil to the onions while they are cooking. Then make the recipe as per directions. Sometimes I will add crushed red peppers for those that like a bit of spice to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I make this soup with regularity and my family loves it...for those who enjoy having a little zip in this soup, try adding some Italian Seasonings and chili flakes to take it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Serve this with raw sliced apples or cheese and crusty bread for a meal! I made a few changes that to me, didn't diminish the flavor at all. I used 6 small red potatoes and did not peel them. No bacon. Cook onions and garlic in olive oil. No heavy cream. Use half and half. I used a little extra garlic. I used Whole Foods Italian pork sausage. If you like spicy, a hotter sausage would be good. Be sure not to overcook after adding the kale. It still had a little al dente to it! Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I prepared this using hot italian sausage instead of smoked sausage. I really like it, and it is the best use of kale I have found to date. After making it a few times now, I think I will increase the potato a bit and cube them instead of slice them next time. My potatoes were 3-4" yukon golds, so they may be smaller than the ones used by the author. In my opinion, the cream is optional. This is a good soup with or without the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
All I can say is that this is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZB1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Probably the best soup I've ever had. I used already cooked Ekrich smoked sausage which I split and put in the broiler for about 7 minutes to crisp. Also used way more broth than called for, swanson's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States