Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Made minor tweaks, but this was the best thing I have ever made!!! Cooked sweet Sausage minus casing with fennel and red pepper to give it the kick OG has....fantastic. Also used turkey sausage, turkey bacon, fat free half & half, and double the kale. Wish I had a mandolin to slice the potatoes, but cubed was ok too. Thanks so much for posting this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
We loved it, although I must confess that I have never eaten Zuppa Toscana before. I was in a hurry, so I sliced and cooked the sausage on the stove rather than the oven. Next time, I would cook the bacon separately from the onions as it didn't cook evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Loved it, only additions were a dash of Worcestershire and a pinch of fresh parsley. Oh, and I substituted spicy sausage in place of smoked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
very good flavor! the only thing i changed was using ground sausage. it was a big hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I have made this recipe several times and, like many others on here, have made a few revisions. I use 1 lb of ground italian sausage in lieu of the links. I start out by cooking the bacon (I buy the thick kind from the butcher) in the oven for about 15 minutes at 400 because it lets it crisp up rather nicely. At the same time, I cook the sausage stove-top. I reserve the sausage and saute the onions and garlic in the sausage grease. Then, I add the potatoes (I usually use 5 or 6 smaller red potatoes and do not skin them), chicken broth, and 6 cups of water (1.5 quarts). I also add a little black pepper. After about 10 minutes, I add the sausage and the bacon back into the soup which allows for more of the flavor in the broth. I still add the kale and cream and simmer for about four minutes. With a couple of revisions, this wonderful soup is made even better and has become a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
This was absolutely out if this world! Love, love, loved it! My husband said it was better than ones he's had at restaurants! Asked me to make it two nights in a row. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
this is very close to the real thing! I make it all the time with a couple of changes. First of all, I hardly ever use more than one pot when I make a soup, and this one is no exception. I also like to squeeze the meat out the sausage links...it cooks so much faster. I use turkey sausage, so I have to add a small amount of olive oil to the pot when I do this. Remove the sausage from the pot then I cook my bacon, turkey bacon, which I have already cut into small pieces. then add the onion to the pot, cook till tender, then the garlic. Then I add everything except the kale and heavy cream. When the potatoes are about half done, I add the kale, and let that cook till it is just tender. Then I had half and half and a few shakes of some red pepper flakes. Simmer till it's all heated though. Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Living In: Elizabeth City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
loved this.... but its caloric!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberblue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Followed it exactly. WOW! Tastes amazing! BTW, I'm not much of a cook and it turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Timmons Brooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockwell, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dayton, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States