Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This was a great outline for a recipe. I wanted to make it more authentic and lower in calories. I used turkey Italian sausage and half and half instead of heavy cream. It was perfect and tasted almost exactly like Olive Garden's Zuppa Toscana! My whole family enjoyed it, and it had only 241 calories per serving rather than 380 as listed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Great recipe!! The only thing I do differently is I fry the bacon in the pot first, THEN add the onion to the grease after I remove the bacon. (If I fry the onion and bacon together, the onion starts to burn before the bacon is cooked.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAC2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by soupy
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
My husband loved this recipe. I added about 8 ounces of drained kidney beans to make it more hearty. I thought the soup was a little salty. I bought the chicken soup base just for this recipe but next time I will make it with canned broth. The suggestion to add red pepper flakes is a great kick. I will make this again. I would have rated 4.5 if I could have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I Just Made This Soup And Its Delicious. I Didnt Change Anything I Made It Exactly As Stated... Even My 4yr old Loved It!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
awesome! I use turkey or chicken italian sausage. cook the bacon first, remove then cook the onion in the bacon drippings, adding the garlic the last couple of minutes. I also used half and half rather than cream. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
My Husband loves the OG Zuppa Toscana, so I decided to make this for him. He loved it and says he actually thinks it is better than the OG! We multiply the servings by 6 and make a huge pot to divide to freeze! Great to make for friends and new mommas! Make a fresh loaf of bread and you have a wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Love Love Love it! The first time I made it, it seemed a bit salty so the next time I made it I used things with less sodium and it worked out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Charles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrington, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Great Soup and great way to use kale if you have someone who doesn't like it. I Froze the leftovers and it was just as good later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This soup is great comfort food for cold winters! It's very close to the Olive Garden's recipe. I use spicy Italian sausage to give it kick and skip the bacon. If you're looking for a skinnier version; leave out the bacon, add more kale and use half & half instead of cream. Makes me crave the cool seasons so I can make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumner, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Pretty darn good, and easy peasy. I used spinach for kale, and Aidell's Habanero Chicken Sausage. BF loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States