Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I loved this recipe! The only things I did differently was use mild Italian sausage instead of smoked sausage, and I poured off a little of the bacon drippings to add some of the drippings from the sausage. I also reduced the onion slightly and added some shallot. I accidentally almost cartelized the onion/shallot/garlic mixture, but it was still great. I personally would use a little less chicken base next time, as it was slightly too salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Awesome! I made this vegetarian by eliminating the bacon/sausage and adding more kale/onions. Also used 2 1/2 cans (14 oz) veggie broth instead of water/soup base. Also included crushed red pepper as recommended by other users. Very delicious, hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Very Good, except the Kale wasn't cooked as much as I would have liked, so add it in with the potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Don't go by the star rating on this review!! The written directions and the video directions are different. Video tells you to cook bacon and drain on a paper towel and then cook the onions in the bacon drippings. You can also use Spinach if you don't like Kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fulton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Delish! I omit the bacon and it tastes just like the soup at Olive Garden, I don't think they put bacon in theirs. I also do not use chicken stock just use plain water there is enough flavor in the sausage and no need for extra sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is a nice and simple recipe that packs a lot of flavor. I subbed spinach and half & half and omitted the bacon as that's what I had on hand. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lace
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Instead of regular bacon I used turkey bacon and instead of the link sausages I used one roll of all natural pork sausage. This soup was amazing. My family said it tasted better than olive gardens. Add a dash of Italian seasoning and basil seasoning and your good to go. I Also topped it off with Parmesan cheese before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by javonda
Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Delicious full flavoured soup, healthy, and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marathon, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This is a go-to in our family. I make it almost weekly in the fall/winter. I substitute ground sausage for the smoked because we like the flavor more. I also use whole milk instead of cream because we always have it on hand. The soup is still nice and creamy. A great way to get your kids to enjoy kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
The flavor is exactly like Olive Garden's soup of the same name. HOWEVER: chicken base is super salty and 2 tablespoons are waaaay too much. (how about 2 teaspoons?) Otherwise, it's a good interpretation of this famous soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States