Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This is quite a bit of work but it turned out awesome and was worth the extra time. I will be adding this to the rotation as it was that good. And yes, it is very like a popular restaurants, Tequila Lime Chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Not sure what restaurant this recipe is supposed to be like but it is awesome. Great flavor. Used Monterey Jack with jalapeño on one chick breast for myself. Even my 8 year old said it was good. Definitely don't leave out the tortilla chips! I just crushed some on top! Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I made this exact recipe, with the exception that I used fresh herbs. Set aside the leftover of the tomato and chopped parsley for a garnish. It was a birthday dinner - my husband's favorite. He approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This recipe is UNbelievable! With the exception of increasing the tequila in the marinade to 1T and using kefir instead of milk in the Mexi-Ranch sauce, I followed the recipe to the letter (oh, I didn't add any additional salt either)... (haha, I guess I didn't exactly follow it to the letter then, did I? :P ) After grilling the chicken breasts on the Weber, rather than sticking them under the broiler with the chips & cheese, I served this as a salad, over romaine and topped with sliced sweet pepper, homemade salsa, and the Mexi-Ranch sauce... Holy DELICIOUS, Batman!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Manitowish Waters, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Followed this recipe exactly as written, except substituted bourbon for tequila (no tequila in the house!) Loved it! Juicy chicken - be sure to marinade at least 2 hours. Next time, I'll add lime zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
very spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I Like this one but I make some changes I use Cactus juice tequila and use at least 1 cup of it in the marinade. I also use fresh limes for my juice and match the same amount of tequila cut the Teriyaki in half, use fresh ginger also helps. I put everything in the food processor, fresh ginger, tequila, fresh limes I even leave some of the centers on the limes. Remove the pell it can turn bitter. Adding some sugar to taste can help if you like a sweeter tasting mix but don't over do it also can help. It also can cause the chicken to burn and smoke more, I have been told it will toughen up meats if left in overnight but never have had that problem. I make mine and soak it overnight. Grill them broil to reheat and serve. We prefer to use Mexican rice mix and refried beans instead of crushed chips to bed the chicken on. We still have chips but use them to eat the rice and beans, homemade Guacamole with. Any leftover marinade is used for extra chicken to make Nacho meat is marinated cooked then frozen for later on when we want zesty nachos. Reheat the leftover chicken/Pork in the slow cooker crockpot with everything and and build your own nacho plate for a late night or weekend when you don't want to heat the house up and want something lite to eat. I make it a couple a times a year and everyone loves it, I do it in stages so its not so much work. You can cheat and use salsa and ranch dressing mixed together or make your own. I prefer to make my own and let it sit a couple days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This was FANTASTIC! Here's how I did it. Made the marinade per the recipe and let it go for about 5 hours, flipping every 90 mins roughly. Then followed other's advice to just use ranch + good salsa (the stuff that is in the cooler, not the basic jar stuff) + chopped cilantro. I used two big breasts, and about 1/4 cup ranch and 1/4 cup salsa, and perhaps 2 TB finely chopped fresh cilantro. Then I heated my oven to 375 and put my cast iron grill pan in and got it good and hot. Pulled it out and put it on a high burner. Very lightly oil chicken so it doesn't stick, and then tossed chicken on for about 2 mins, do a cross turn for a min, then flip and repeat (remember, always start with the top/smooth part of the chicken breast since the breast will be put in the oven with the bottom side down and it gets pretty cooked - it's an aesthetic thing). Anyways, I tossed back in oven for about 6 mins, then pulled out and turned oven to high broil - added ranch/salsa/cilantro mix to the top, then topped with cheese and tossed in, with oven cracked open(!) for about 3 mins till cheese was melted and bubbly. Came out so juicy and delish. I served with my secret black beans and the cilantro lime rice recipe from this site. HOME RUN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORPKID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
My family really liked this recipe. Keep the liquid smoke! I omitted the dill weed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Easy and super delicious! Tastes just like the restaurant version. I didn't have any liquid smoke. I will add more lime juice next time. Thank you for this recipe! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Chili Lime Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a quick, flavorful marinade for grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States