Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I just loved the rich powerful flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This was fine, nothing spectacular. It was too salty for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I left out the beef granules the second time and it was better tasting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I had to make 6 pounds of taco meat "pronto"! (So I just quadrupled each ingredient for a close approximation.) Despite missing a couple ingredients (no red pepper, replaced garlic powder with mince garlic from a jar, and used fresh onion), this recipe came out great with ground TURKEY. No, I did NOT wash the meat: browned it in some olive oil with the GRATED fresh onion, and simply added the water at the end. After cooking off the water, it looked great. At first the flavor was a little flat (due to that missing red pepper?), but later that evening the spicyness and saltiness came through nicely. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Martinez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Definitely better than the "fast food" quality flavor. I didn't have the beef bouillon granules, so I just omitted. It didn't need it. Plenty of flavor without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gideon's Mummy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cheswick, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Big hit with my family this recipe is perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This turned out great, first time making taco seasoning from scratch and it was tasty. No more store bought for me, takes a few extra minutes vs opening a package but you know what ingredients are in there, and they're common ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Essex, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
My fiance LOVES when I make these tacos, So of course I use this recipe often. I also made it for my family and they love it too. There are a few things I leave out of the recipe including corn flower, seasoned salt, beef bouillon and the sugar. In lieu of these ingredients I add a taco sauce usually mild and I put a few dashes of hot sauce in the mix . I also put the recipe in the slow cooker and if I have time put it on the lowest time setting ( about 10 hours so I add more water approx 2 cups). Normally it doesn't take the whole 10 hours to cook, but I just prefer the lowest setting for any type of meat. It turns out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Scaled this recipe up to feed a hungry army of 50 high school kids and it was a big hit. I used the ingredient quantities as called for and it was mild (heat-wise) and flavorful but you could scale up the red pepper to increase the heat if you like. I actually adapted it for the crock pot. Browned the beef in the skillet, then put it in the crock pot on high for 4 hours with everything except the corn masa - added that in the last 30min of cooking just to thicken it. Fantastic, everyone loved it! I will be making this again for our family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Had guests coming for taco dinner and realized I was out of taco seasoning packets. This was easy and delicious so I might not bother buying the packets again. I didn't have corn flour so I sprinkled corn starch on top of the meat when it was simmering and mixed it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States