Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I've been making a very similar version of this for years. It is so much better than the taco packets you buy! I always use this when seasoning ground beef for all of my mexican dishes. Thanks for sharing GVSWIFE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
This recipe makes great taco meat. I did not have the corn flour and made no substition. I did not have the beef granuals, but instead I mixed the water and 1 bouillon cube along with all the other seasonings then added the mixture to the beef. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARK_AMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Haslet, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
This is a good recipe to use for those times when you are making tacos and realize you do not have any of the little store bought packets. I did not have all of the ingredients on hand (garlic salt, crushed red peppers and corn flour), but it still came out ok. I'm sure if I had all the ingredients it would have been a 5 star. I guess the fact that nobody noticed is a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTLES1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This is awesome. I tried this for my husband because I've never been fond of packaged taco seasoning. I actually used this seasoning on one pound of ground turkey, but I left the measurments of the dried seasonings as is. I reduced the amount of water to 2/3 cup. It turned out great and my husband absolutely loved it. He was even shocked to discover that I'd used turkey meat...said he couldn't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheGatewoods

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
was just wondering what corn flour is, somewhere I read it is cornstarch is that correct? I used cornstarch and it tasted great...but is that what I was supposed to use?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Pretty good. Homemade seasonings are definately better than buying those package mixes. As far as the corn flour, it's essential for the flavor, but I did feel the overall taste was a little bland. To answer a previous question, corn flour is like masa used in various latino foods. It's not the same as corn starch. It's found in the mexican food isle of the grocery store and sometimes is called corn masa or masa harina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This was good. Didn't knock my socks off, but considering what you pay for a packet of seasoning in the store, this is definately cheaper and the results are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Platte, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
This was a fine substitute for the packaged seasoning you get at the store. I was in the middle of making tacos when I realized that I was out of those packages. Thank goodness for this recipe! I didn't have the corn starch or the garlic salt, but it came out fine anyway. Great substitute in a jam! I might just use this recipe from now on. The only down side is that it does take more time to measure all the ingredients than it would just to rip open a packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
This was pretty good. Not as good as a taco seasoning packet, I felt it wasn't spicy enough. Good to have this recipe on hand when I don't have the packet like last night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
this was a good alternative to the packets, but found it was lacking something? i added a tablespoon of tomato puree which cured the problem!! wonderfull,so glad i dont have to buy the packets anymore!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buttonmoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chichester, Sussex, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States