Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Tasty and OK but nothing like the so called restuarant. Perfect for Taco Sissies. MILD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This went over well. I didnt have corn flour. I didnt add as much water so I don't think it missed it. I would have used corn starch probably if I would have needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I did not change anything and I will never buy another package of taco seasoning again TY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
great flavor and really is identical to "that restaurant."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sudhsama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This is very good. I don't care for the envelope mixes and many times make a very simply spiced meat for my tacos but hubby prefers a little more seasoning and this was perfect for both of us. I followed the suggestion of diamar and cooked the meat in water to help break it up and did not drain it. Since it was 1/2 turkey and 1/2 beef there wasn't a lot of fat but what was left after cooking off a little added to the flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Fantastic! All of the seasonings really elevated the simple homemade taco to something special. And it does taste just like a restaurant! I made it with ground turkey and dissolved the beef bouillon cube in the water. 1 cup is a bit too much water, though--2/3 or even 1/2 would have been fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I was looking for a mild flavor taco seasoning that I could make right here at home. This was perfect as I had all the ingredients on hand. I used a little less of the red pepper flakes as some family members prefer it mild. I also used corn masa for the corn flour, which is corn flour, found in the hispanic aisle inside the grocery stores. A 5 lb. bag will usually cost about $6.00. I also use corn masa to make tortillas and tamales. For this recipe, I used it to make, "Taco Salad I," also from this website. I used ground turkey meat in place of lean ground chuck. Once I cooked the meat, drained the grease, I added the seasoning and half the amount of water. The seasoning is a good flavor with a mild taste, which is what I was looking for. This recipe also leaves room to increase the amount of spiciness to the mixture if one desires.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Excellent! Made for taco salad, with some minor subs for ingredients on hand; i.e. corn meal for corn flour. I don't keep garlic salt or seasoned salt in my pantry, so I added a half teaspoon salt. I didn't add the dried minced onion since we were having taco salad, but would for tacos. Also wasn't sure if ground red pepper was cayenne or ground red pepper flakes, so since I had some ground red pepper flakes leftover from another dish, I used that. Even on low heat, the liquid cooked off quickly. I thought the meat was a little spicy on its own (not real brave in the heat department), but it was perfect for the salad. Will definitely use this recipe from now on. I've made a couple of the taco seasoning recipes on AR, and liked them okay, but like this spice combo is much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Very tasty. I used only garlic powder-probably a full tablespoon. We also browned up minced onion, jalapeno and bell pepper with the meat. I think I will make up a big batch of this mix to share with my kids. I like the low sodium content of this mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This really does taste a lot like what the tacos at Miguels ( a mexican resturant in Tampa,fl) Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States