Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Didn't taste quite like The Bell to me but it was still really great. Much better than the packaged stuff. Didn't have masa and wasn't about to run out for it. I used cornstarch and it worked fine. I'll definitely make it with masa in future as I'm sure it would add something to it. Used in the Taco Pie from this site. I'll use this recipe to make taco meat from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Granted I was short some chili powder, but I really thought this need more flavor. And it wasn't HOT , and I don't like "hot" stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This turned out amazingly well. I got really tired of taco meat that was dry and flavorless, so I tried this. I omitted the bouillon because I didn't want it too salty, just salted to taste after the liquid had cooked down a little bit. I didn't have masa (corn flour) on hand so I threw some corn meal in the blender. Worked great, very tasty, very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
good. I didn't use ground chuck maybe that would have tasted better. But, it was still better then the powdered packets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly H.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I made the following substitutions: 1/4t. seasoned pepper + 1/4t. salt = 1/2t. seasoned salt; 1/4t. garlic powder + 1/4t. salt = 1/2t. garlic salt; 1/2t. crushed red pepper flakes = 1/4t. ground red pepper. I made a double recipe and added some to the rice & beans before cooking them. I used 4T to add to a 1.25lb tray of ground turkey and skipped the washing step. It was all very yummy! I will make more to keep handy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I amde this recipe for a crowd of 15, kids and adults, fussy eaters.. It got rave reviews. I cooked 6lbs of ground beef and used 4 times the seasoning.. Also did the Chicken recipe in the slow cooker.. didn't make enough.. awsome awsome asome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I made it vegetarian and omitted the beef and beef boullion. I also added a couple cloves of garlic and some onion as another reviewer mentioned. In place of beef, I used TVP (Textured Vegetable Protein). I'll use turkey next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Very good! Did cut the cumin b/c it's a strong spice....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I used corn meal since I had it on hand, instead of corn flour, and the results were still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willoughby Hills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
My whole family loves this kind of taco meat. I never buy pre-packaged taco seasoning anymore. Instead of cornmeal, I just use cornbread mix, like jif or betty crocker. I also skip the ground red pepper since I have several kids and instead of minced onion, I just saute diced onion with the meat while it is cooking. Definately a keeper in our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States