Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I amde this recipe for a crowd of 15, kids and adults, fussy eaters.. It got rave reviews. I cooked 6lbs of ground beef and used 4 times the seasoning.. Also did the Chicken recipe in the slow cooker.. didn't make enough.. awsome awsome asome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I made it vegetarian and omitted the beef and beef boullion. I also added a couple cloves of garlic and some onion as another reviewer mentioned. In place of beef, I used TVP (Textured Vegetable Protein). I'll use turkey next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Very good! Did cut the cumin b/c it's a strong spice....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I used corn meal since I had it on hand, instead of corn flour, and the results were still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willoughby Hills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
My whole family loves this kind of taco meat. I never buy pre-packaged taco seasoning anymore. Instead of cornmeal, I just use cornbread mix, like jif or betty crocker. I also skip the ground red pepper since I have several kids and instead of minced onion, I just saute diced onion with the meat while it is cooking. Definately a keeper in our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This recipe was so yummy! I used regular flour instead of corn flour. I fried half of a medium onion and 3 cloves of garlic with the meat. I also added a can of diced tomatoes when the seasonings were added to the meat. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hank's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This was very good. I didn't do it exactly. I had some beef broth left over so I used that rather than water and I let it simmer about 2 hours just because I could. I also used the same amounts listed but for 2 pounds of beef was perfect for us. I agree it needs a little something...I just don't know what that is. This will be what I use for tacos in the future. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
It was a good substitute to the packets you get in the grocery store. Even though it was good something tasted like it was missing. I didnt have corn flour or beef boullion so that may have made the difference.I will however use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Very good, basic recipe. I kicked it up a notch with some extra hot pepper flakes and some chilies. We all have loads of seasonings in our cupboards, why not mix them up instead of buying the bottles for so much more $$. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIJANUARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Yum! I actually thought it tasted better than fast food. I didn't have the corn flour, but I saw that others used corn starch. It worked just fine for me. This didn't last too long in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sellsie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States