Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Very good...Didn't think it tasted like any restaurant meat I've had, but it is still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This is a great way recipe, and I didn't have to use one of those "packets". Made it with ground turkey and it was very flavorful, but still healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I've tried a couple other taco seasoning recipes from this site and I like this one the best. I did use corn meal as I had no corn flour. This recipe is mild enough if feeding kids, but can easily be "kicked" up for those who enjoy more heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Easily 5 stars! I hate when people change a recipe then review it, but I made such tiny changes that it won't matter. I don't eat at Taco Bell so I can't compare it to that, but the recipe is fantastic nonetheless. I doubled the cumin (I love cumin) and the pepper (I love spicy food). I also used 90/10 lean ground beef and simmered it for an hour. i just added a bit more water along the way. We used this in a taco salad....SOOOOOO GOOOOOOOD!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamler, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
My husband and I love this recipe and use it every time we make tacos or nachos. Once you have all the spices on hand it is very simple to measure everything out...and probably more cost effective than the spice packs at the store. I substitute corn starch for the corn meal and it works fine. I also cut back on the salt a little bit too. Try it, you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Didn't taste quite like The Bell to me but it was still really great. Much better than the packaged stuff. Didn't have masa and wasn't about to run out for it. I used cornstarch and it worked fine. I'll definitely make it with masa in future as I'm sure it would add something to it. Used in the Taco Pie from this site. I'll use this recipe to make taco meat from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Granted I was short some chili powder, but I really thought this need more flavor. And it wasn't HOT , and I don't like "hot" stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This turned out amazingly well. I got really tired of taco meat that was dry and flavorless, so I tried this. I omitted the bouillon because I didn't want it too salty, just salted to taste after the liquid had cooked down a little bit. I didn't have masa (corn flour) on hand so I threw some corn meal in the blender. Worked great, very tasty, very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
good. I didn't use ground chuck maybe that would have tasted better. But, it was still better then the powdered packets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly H.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I made the following substitutions: 1/4t. seasoned pepper + 1/4t. salt = 1/2t. seasoned salt; 1/4t. garlic powder + 1/4t. salt = 1/2t. garlic salt; 1/2t. crushed red pepper flakes = 1/4t. ground red pepper. I made a double recipe and added some to the rice & beans before cooking them. I used 4T to add to a 1.25lb tray of ground turkey and skipped the washing step. It was all very yummy! I will make more to keep handy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States