Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I've used this recipe several times as I always have the ingredients on hand. It comes close to the taste of TB but it will be the sauce or salsa that you may choose to use that will bring the overall taste very close. My son is the TB lover in our house and this satisfies him when he's wanting to go there but I am not. We've used it for tacos & taco salads; still need to give "enchiritos" a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Better than a packaged mix, but it's not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
To get that "popular fast-food taco restaurant" texture to the ground meat(being beef, turkey or whatever). Just add water before cooking to the crumbled meat and stir well and frequently as it browns. This helps the meat separate. You can drain the excess fat of when the water has cooked out of it, but I do not recommend rinsing it. Add more water before adding the seasoning if needed. I, personally, just add the seasoning once the meat starts browning and just let the water cook out. You will end up with that crumbly texture that I just love about that certain, unnamed taco place. This works with those little packets too. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Diaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Wow, this was just what I was looking for. Very flavorful. I used it to make some old fashioned nachos and it was a hit with my hubby & me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Very, very good. I don't need to look anywhere else for another recipe. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Really yummy and it doesn't have the powdery taste that you get with the packets. I made it in the morning and kept in in the crock pot on low for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This was great, I did not add sugar I also did not have the corn meal so I just use a corn muffing mix. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. I added extra corn meal (about a tablespoon more.) I seasoned the ground beef for the, as we call it in Texas, Super Nachos I made. Perfect seasoning! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I've used this recipe for several months now, just as good as the or better then the store bought stuff. I have always just used regular flour in place of the corn flour. Since my family doesn't do spicey to well I use less chili powder and just make up the difference with paparika- gives it the same color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lebanon, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States